[M.M.X.I.V. 246] Musical Memories Shuffle XVII

This post used to be a regular part of my blogging, but it has become fewer and farther between.  But, I figured that today was a good choice for it, partially because I was somewhat stuck for a choice, and partially because music is fun!  So, I now hit the shuffle button, and we’re off!

1) The Pretender by Foo Fighters.  This might be cheating a little bit, because the main point of this song being on my MP3 player is that it was covered by NUMB (Northwestern University Marching Band) as well as the basketball pep band.  It was a while after I first heard the song that I tried to download it, but I like it quite a bit… although the primacy effect will give a preference to the band version!  Despite me liking the song, my choreography to this song has not developed into a consistent routine.

2) Shadow Dancing by Andy Gibb.  I frequently heard this song on KOOL 105.3, LINC-FM, and WOW-FM, obviously since it is a goodie-oldie.  One particularly salient time: I heard the song on July 21, 2006 (hey, there’s that date again!), when I went to the New and Used Bike Shop to get a Mountain Trek that replaced the stolen Cannondale.  For the longest time, I thought Gibb was saying “shadow dancer” instead of “shadow dancing.”

3) Stayin’ Alive by the Bee Gees.  Repeat from a previous post, but I also remember hearing this song at many of the Out of School and/or Back To School parties at Hillcrest.  Craig Estudillo was quite a character back then, and he made the parties quite fun!

4) Shenandoah arr. by Catatonics.  This song sounds a lot different from some of the other songs on the Catatonics (now NUTones) repertoire.  However, the imagery of the river is something that I found quite nice.  I have also heard the song purely instrumental in New-Age format, which I obviously enjoy.

5) Country Idyll arr. by Mason Williams & Mannheim Steamroller.  This song is one of the numbers on “Classical Gas,” and although I like it, there is nothing that particularly stands out about it.  That is okay, because although I always put EVERY song from CDs onto my MP3 rotation, not all of them will be salient, but you never know when the song will grow on you.

6) Bad Impressions by Noah Weiss.  Yep, my blog posts that I have audio-ified have found their way to my MP3 library as well!  The memories associated with that are obvious!

7) Found Out About You by Gin Blossoms.  I discovered this song in the mid ’90s, but it seemed that the Blossoms song that was more frequently played was “Follow You Down.”  I actually prefer this one… maybe because of the associations of schoolyard and bus stop, both of which have salience to me.  I didn’t really appreciate the song at the time, but some songs become better with time!

8) Proud Mary by Ike and Tina Turner.  Commence party!  This song reminds me of one time in RUTE when we were driving through Denton toward the big pond in Spring Creek Prairie.  It came onto the radio, and all of us in the car belted out.  You can’t help but sing crazily during the second part of the song!

9) Final Battle in Pokémon Colosseum.  A number that I feel is fitting for a Head Honcho battle in a video game.  I remember searching for it for a long time before I knew that people would upload these sorts of numbers to YouTube.  Instead, I found it on LimeWire (yeah…) and got really excited.

10) Don’t Bring Me Down by ELO.  For once, this song is on my MP3 player due to the lyrics.  Of course, the tune is quite catchy.  My favorite part of the song, however, is the “nonononononononono” in quick succession after the “snake in the grass” lick.  Since I like repetition, this should not come as a surprise.

11) Shakin’ The Shack by Dave Koz/Chester Thomson.  This was the gateway song to the first Weather Channel Smooth Jazz CD, so I got a primacy effect by hearing the song, and I liked it a lot.  Therefore, although I had listened to music from The Weather Channel before, I feel that THIS song was THE song that hooked me on smooth jazz and attempting to actually find the titles to songs from this genre!

12) לכו נרננה (L’chu N’ranana) arr. by Rabbi Mordecai Levin.  These are the opening words to Psalm 95, which begins the קבלת שבת (Kabbalat Shabbat) service, excluding an opening of ידיד נפש (Yedid Nefesh) or שלום עליכם (Shalom Aleichem).  The tune is different from the one that I originally learnt, but I like this one.  It is also different from the “Carlebach” version that is frequently used in services in Chicago.  For every region a different tune!

13) Sunrise by Simply Red.  The first time I heard this song, I was expecting I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do), and was excited since I had liked that song from hearing it frequently on the 80’s at 8.  How surprised I was to find out that despite the same beginning, the songs are completely different.  The lyrics didn’t matter, but the musical connection caused me to like both songs.

14) Keeper of the Flame by Martin Page.  After re-discovering “The House of Stone and Light,” I later heard this song on Pandora after seeding a station by the aforementioned song.  Although it is quite different from “The House of Stone and Light,” it has similar qualities, and I like the message of the song.  (Of course, I also made a pun on the song when allergies and the common cold attack–I become the keeper of the phlegm!)

15) Commitment by Kristin K. and Lindsay B.  This was a talk segment on Sunny-Side Up With Kristin and Lindsay from November 15, 2013.  This talk segment focused on a few “ethnographic” experiments involving the role of technology and peoples’ relationships.  I particularly enjoyed the experiment of trying to say hello to people on Sheridan.  The advice to put away the cell phone when in social situations: I tend to do that well.  This might be the only non-final show of Sunny-Side Up that I recorded without a shout-out to me!

So, my MP3s include talk segments of radio shows, blog posts, and a-cappella in addition to songs you would be likely to hear on the radio.  It is always enjoyable to see what pops up!

==================================================

Today is the two-hundred and forty-sixth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes thirty-five weeks and one day.

Today is the fifty-first day of the Character Building Trial.  That makes seven weeks and two days.

Let's have a conversation!

