[M.M.X.I.V. 247] Short weeks

Here’s a surefire way to throw Noah into disorientation: throw in a short week!

I am a slave to routine and habit, although I am not nearly as rigid as I used to be when I was younger.  I like having the usual times for working (e.g. with some window between the hours, ordinarily, of 08:00 and 18:00 on weekdays) so as to have evenings and weekends for leisure.  When a holiday or other non-working day happens during a work-week, even if it is on a Monday or a Friday, it tends to throw off my week.

During July, when I was teaching EXCEL, I reserved weekends for leisure, but evenings were often filled with teaching prep for the next day and/or grading.  This was acceptable for me, because I realized that if I tried to do the teaching prep during the day and research during the evening, nothing would get done.  I consider the teaching prep to use less energy, and my mind seems sharpest during the day.

That made the four weeks of EXCEL into very long weeks despite the fact that the first one included my birthday and Independence Day.  I spent most of the morning of Independence Day preparing teaching material, although I at least enjoyed the day by listening to patriotic marches on Spotify and of course later in the evening, went to Summer Horns.

Back on topic, however, short weeks will throw off my perception of time, and sometimes leave me out of the loop for the remainder of the week.  This is particularly true when the day that shortened the week felt like a weekend day with a certain activity.

For example, on Monday, I was at a bridge tournament, and on most Sundays, I play in PTCG leagues and/or tournaments, as well as a casual bridge club.  Thus, Monday felt like Sunday, which made Tuesday feel like Monday.  BUT THEN: I was working yesterday all day with the feeling that it was a Thursday.  But it certainly wasn’t: SPG was not occurring that evening, and tomorrow (i.e. today) is not Friday.

Unfortunately for my scheduling sanity, there will be a myriad of short weeks during this fall.  Obviously, this week had Labor Day.  The next two weeks will be ordinary, but then the week after that will be a three-day week since ראש השנה (Rosh Hashanah) happens on the Thursday-Friday of that week.  At least יום כיפור (Yom Kippur) is on a Saturday so as to make that week mostly ordinary.

Then, the following two weeks will also be short: Molly’s wedding weekend will cause me to be out of town on Friday, October 10 and Monday, October 13.  And the FOLLOWING week, Mom and Dad will be in town for a short vacation after the Nebraska-Northwestern football game in Evanston, so that Monday the 20th will also be a day off for me.  After all of those short weeks, it should be smooth sailing with the schedule until Thanksgiving.

Despite the distraction of short weeks, I have to bring myself to get work done.  But this week, I have been distracted by errands, good weather, and occupational therapy appointments.  I will probably have to eschew the Northwestern field hockey match on Friday, since I need to get some work done.

Readers: do you get thrown off by short weeks?  How does it mentally affect your work?

============================================

Today is the two-hundred and forty-seventh day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes thirty-five weeks and two days.

Today is the fifty-second day of the Character Building Trial.  That makes seven weeks and three days.

4 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 247] Short weeks

  1. Fascinating, Noah – and your question at the end has really made me think. When I was a teacher, I was a complete slave to routine; in some ways, this was good because it meant I was hyper-organised – but it DID mean that I was completely freaked out by short weeks! The weird thing is this: Since taking early retirement, I have reverted to the old, student Ali way of seeing things – and am far more laid back about days of the week and so on. I think, in retrospect, teaching was a terrifying and confronting experience for me, and, because I felt out of control, I desperately needed to be able to have rigid schedules in my life in order to feel safe.
    Everything had to be just so: pens in a certain place; books tidy and in order; duvet uncreased – and I would actually feel very threatened and uneasy if the carefully-established patterns were out of true.
    Sorry – gone a bit off-piste here!

    Like

Let's have a conversation!

