[M.M.X.I.V. 252] Two-thirty

This post’s title is both a misnomer and not.  You will certainly see what it means a little bit later.  Yet, you will see that it is NOT a misnomer.  The date that this refers to is precisely eleven years ago: September 9, 2003.  (Yep, it was a pretty salient day, and you’ll probably either laugh or groan at the end (or middle!) of the post.)

At two-thirty on September 9, 2003 (Central Daylight Time), I was in the middle of my eighth and final period in school (geez, and now I can’t remember what class it was!  So much for my good memory!)  It was an early day in my junior year of high school, and I was not Eagerly Awaiting the Finish of the Day, other than the fact that it had been a long day in classes.  Thankfully, my homework load was light that night.

I drove home, to find Mom waiting for me to then boomerang out toward East Campus of the University of Nebraska.  It was not for a campus visit, but rather a visit to a certain professional school.  I entered the building through the front entrance, which was a long walkway followed by stairs and double doors.  The inside of the building looked like an airport lobby, which we (i.e. Mom and I) bypassed toward a small clinic, with the waiting room consisting of four chairs, a window, and the whole room was smaller than my current bedroom in Evanston!

Yes, it was for a visit to the College of Dentistry.

Behind this room, however, was a dental clinic, where Dr. Payne (actual last name!) was about to perform an operation.  It was time for me to undergo dental surgery!  I do not remember the details of the operation, even though I was lucid through the procedure.  Nor do I REALLY need to get into the gory details anyway.  Don’t worry–they numbed my mouth before beginning.  It did not require an IV.  But, they knocked out the baby tooth and attached a braces bracket and a chain underneath the gum in order to force down the permanent tooth.

The operation ended at about 16:30, so therefore two-thirty could refer to Pacific Daylight Time.

But of course, the whole idea here is the lame pun, TOOTH-HURTY!

Let me explain further.  Even before the numbing wore off, my tongue got curious and started poking around the new void in my mouth.  It was particularly intrigued by this new chain.  I was not in serious pain, but even if I were, recall that I have a very high pain tolerance (pardon the annoying convention of a different link for every word).  Mom picked me up around 17:00, and we headed home.  In retrospect, I should have requested to go somewhere else on East Campus–the Dairy Store for ice cream!

The rest of the night was fairly uneventful… at least until the curious tongue scored a point against the chain while I was playing video games.  Yes, the chain had come loose and was dangling from the braces, because my tongue kept going for it!  Luckily, Dr. Payne is a family friend of ours (as well as a fellow synagogue member).  Mom’s phone call to him went, “<First name redacted>, the chain came loose.”

So he made a house call, and re-attached the chain by using Mom’s sewing kit.  He ensured, “That chain will NOT come off.”  And it didn’t.

The next few weeks were getting used to the strange sensation in my mouth, as well as taking liquid Vioxx on a regular basis.

=============================================================

Today is the two-hundred and fifty-second day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes thirty-six weeks.

Today is the fifty-seventh day of the Character Building Trial.  That makes eight weeks and one day.

6 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 252] Two-thirty

    • It was a pretty unpleasant procedure, Ali, but I am very strong in that sense. It’s much better than this ongoing recovery from the wrist fracture, of which I am writing something tomorrow…

      Like

  1. Having something foreign placed in one’s mouth is strange and takes time to get use to. It’s a good thing Dr. Payne was a family friend. BTW, my great-grandparents (may they RIP) last name is Payne. I wonder, if there is a family connection? That would be most interesting to know. Oh well, thanks for the link share!

    Like

Let's have a conversation!

