[M.M.X.I.V. 271] Chauffeuring

In searching for something to say today, one of my favorite comics (it sometimes seems to mirror life as I might see my Mom) from earlier in the week also hit my blogging muscles, as I experienced what Jill (the Mom) did in THIS comic.

In the summer after I finished tenth grade, I attained the age of 16 years in the middle of it, and thereafter allowed to drive on my own.  This was before the limitation of passengers in cars for the provisional operator’s permit (a.k.a. junior drivers license), and so I began the procedure of becoming Designated Chauffeur for my siblings, to take them to swimming/diving and gymnastics.  I found this to be very annoying.

Granted, my social life at that time was underdeveloped, as I didn’t know how to hang out with friends at that time, and honestly, I don’t know whether I had any friends.  I had good acquaintances in school, but at that time, I didn’t realize that acquaintances are not necessarily friends.  (They weren’t enemies, of course.)

It was particularly irksome during the following summer (i.e. 2004).  I was driving all over town daily, and did not like it one iota.  Thankfully, I never had to do the #$%&! carpooling that Jill complains about in the comic.  And although I despised it at the time, there were a few good things about it:

  • Mom was still paying for the gas, given how much I was driving.  In some sense, this was my “payment” for chauffeuring.
    • She would not have been able to most of the time that summer, since the office was still fairly young.
  • The dead time gave me opportunity to complete my mandatory summer reading–the books that I chose were One Hundred Years of Solitude (fitting title?) and Slaughterhouse-Five.
  • I was still able to work the shifts that I wanted to at Runza.
  • I got my Citizenship Issues volunteering credit done in three long days in order to reduce the inconvenience on Mom.  I was already used to six-seven hour shifts at Runza, so the volunteering time flew by.
  • As the driver, I had the primary say in the radio station, and this may have been part of the development of my explicit liking of 80’s music.

In retrospect, it goes back to the chores that I despised doing at the time, but that I can be thankful or appreciative of now.

It would be different if I were the chauffeur of a bike ride, but how would that even work?

==========================================================

Today is the two-hundred and seventy-first day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes thirty-eight weeks and five days.

Today is the seventy-sixth day of the Character Building Trial.  That makes ten weeks and six days.

Let's have a conversation!

