[M.M.X.I.V. 275 / O.C.T.O.B.E.R. III-2] Step Lightly

I heard this as the eighth song today, on The Jazz Show, after turning to my backup radio.  The song itself is something that I have never heard before, but I might as well use its title in briefly discussing today’s topic.

Well, when I woke up this morning, I had to step lightly considering that the room was quite darkly (boo!)  The only light was coming from the east on Lake Michigan.  Indeed, my entire apartment building had suffered a power outage (including an Internet outage).  Allegedly, a feeder cable to the building had failed, and the much-maligned ComEd was on the scene.

Thankfully, I was able to use my headlamp that I normally use for cycling so as to be able to do the Morning Hygiene Routine.  Of course, this was difficult in having the lamp reflect the light from the mirrors right into my eyes!  So, I suppose that this caused me to step lightly too.

It was awkward timing on the morning, because I had an occupational therapy appointment at 09:45, and did not feel like going into the office prior to that (I can theoretically work anywhere).

I had mentioned backup radio.  Prior to the backup radio, I was using the TuneIn app to listen to B107.3.  But, because the outage cut off powering up my phone, it ran too low on battery to justify using TuneIn.  I managed to listen to 4 And No More, and the battery survived when I quit using the app.  The eighth song came after I had shifted to WNUR on the terrestrial radio and heard it.  DJ Jazzy L was providing the music today.

I realize that having power is something that I take for granted.  During the summer of 2011, there were quite a few outages, and they got quite annoying, as I overslept a few days due to them!

Perhaps this post sidestepped Step Lightly, but you can also let me know if it just seemed like incoherent rambling.  I tend to do that, and in some sense, it could also go in with the Freewrite Thursday theme.  (Come to think of it, I have 30 seconds left.  What good timing for an unplanned freewrite!)

=====================================================

Today is the two-hundred and seventy-fifth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes thirty-nine weeks and two days.

Today is the eightieth day of the Character Building Trial.  That makes eleven weeks and three days.

2 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 275 / O.C.T.O.B.E.R. III-2] Step Lightly

Let's have a conversation!

