[M.M.X.I.V. 276 / O.C.T.O.B.E.R. III-3] Slide

It’s a song from the late 90’s which popped up as the eighth song of the day (which I heard on the online stream of B107.3).  However, I’d like to take the name “Slide” and apply it to the weather today through a sequence of assertions.  First, here is the song.

In what seems to be a rare occurrence for me, the weather is pretty gloomy on ערב יום כיפור (the eve of Yom Kippur).  It is humid, rainy, and icky out there.  (I may even try to work from home in the morning, though my lunch is at the office, and I will meet with my advisor at 14:00 as well).

But, rain is not always a bummer.  There is a “singing in the rain” ideal, and sometimes you have to squeeze lemonade out of the lemons.  In fact, the ninth song that played was “Happy” by Pharrell Williams (an arrangement for the Lincoln Southwest High School band)!

Although I have never seen the slides that I am about to talk about in person, it would have been fun to see.  What am I referring to?  Rain delays in baseball games.  The teams sometimes have a lot of fun, whether it’s a dance-off, slip-and-slide on the tarp, or other entertaining endeavors.  It might be a way one of these days to shake my fair-WEATHER fandom.  (I can take rain, as long as there’s no lightning.)

For your entertainment, here is the baseball dance-off.  If I were ever at a game where it happened, I might have to join them in the stands!

(Interesting: the “slide” can refer to both the slip-and-SLIDE and also the fact that line dances are also called slides.)

No worries, I will not also insert slide presentations from my teaching over the summer!

=============================================================

Today is the two-hundred and seventy-sixth day of M.M.X.I.V.   That makes thirty-nine weeks and three days.

Today is the eighty-first day of the Character Building Trial.  That makes eleven weeks and four days.

Let's have a conversation!

