[M.M.X.I.V. 286 / O.C.T.O.B.E.R. III-13] Windsprints

We now return you to your regularly scheduled O.C.T.O.B.E.R. posts.

So, after listening to a combination of B107.3 and Spotify, the eighth song I ran (pun intended) into was Windsprints.  It is pretty silly, but it is nice in that I can write something about it which may resemble my Indefatigable post of two years ago.

Another great idea of this song: Windsprints can refer to the big event in the Windy City yesterday.  The Chicago Maratgon (misspelling intentional so that I can josh Tim, my photographer friend at the Northwestern sporting events) occurred!

Two years ago, I wrote about it as a spectator in seeing my friend Greg running.  It is quite the spectacle.  However, I know that my type of endurance will NOT involve sprinting in the wind.  Heck, I can’t catch a sprinting quarterback in flag football!  It is not about running out of breath (maybe not), but rather my legs do not move that quickly.  Running is much harder on the body than riding is!

In fact, windsprints were one of the reasons that I quit participating in organized sports teams–the practices became hell!  During my seventh grade year, I played on an inter-mural (yes, not intramural) middle school flag football league.  Our team did very well, in winning all our games, including several shutout wins.

The practices involved a lot of running.  That fall, there were some really hot afternoons, exacerbated by the fact that Pound Middle School lacked air conditioning in most of its rooms in 1999.  One particularly grueling practice involved running at the end: we all lined up as if we were on the offensive line, and our coach wanted us to simulate the start of a play.  It was a short run if we did it right, and we had to run the whole length of the field if we did it wrong.

On the first iteration, we did it wrong.  We were supposed to start on the word “hut.”  So, first iteration:

“DOWN!

SEEEEEEET…

BOO!”

One of my teammates jumped on “BOO!” and we all had to do a lot of running.

Indeed, in sports, if you do it wrong, you run.  If you do it right, you run!  If you complain about running, you run!  Ugh–pure running is my least favorite form of exercise, as it feels like a punishment.

===========================================================

Today is the two-hundred and eighty-sixth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes forty weeks and six days.

Today is the ninety-first day of the Character Building Trial.  That makes thirteen weeks.

Today is the thirteenth day of the third round of O.C.T.O.B.E.R.  That makes one week and six days.

Let's have a conversation!

