[M.M.X.I.V. 287 / O.C.T.O.B.E.R. III-14] House Logic

For once, the eighth song of the day is one that I cannot find a freely playable form online.  It is by Matt Ulery’s Loom, and is a jazz song.

Well, perhaps it is about something that is NOT logical.

As I mentioned umpteen times on my blog, I was back in Lincoln over the weekend for my sister Molly’s wedding.  It was a great time, getting to spend around family and friends that I have not seen in a while.

Additionally, doing math research is theoretically possible from anywhere.  And as a logical person, I should be able to find time and energy to work wherever I am.

Yet, my mind does not work logically in that sense.  There is a psychological phenomenon called “context-sensitive memory,” which states that you are more likely to remember something in a matching context.  So, if you study at home regularly, you should continue to do that–trying to study on a beach or in a train is unlikely to be as effective.

I try to work effectively when in the office, but when I am at home (whether that be on Countryview Lane or in Engelhart), my mind is somewhere else, without the will to work.  There is a good reason why there should be separate contexts for work, play, and relaxation–although we are versatile beings, boundaries need to separate the natural from the synthetic, the work from the enjoyment, the excitement from the boredom, and so forth.

Returning to work the day after a vacation is tough, but because I have a “short” week, I need to hit the ground running.  Therefore, this ends my five-minute rant to break up some of the math research.  (I also get distracted from research while waiting for potential students coming in for office hours, as is happening right now.)

====================================================

Today is the two-hundred and eighty-seventh day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes forty-one weeks.

Today is the ninety-second day of the Character Building Trial.  That makes thirteen weeks and one day.

Today is the fourteenth day of the third round of O.C.T.O.B.E.R.  That makes two weeks.

Let's have a conversation!

