[M.M.X.I.V. 288 / O.C.T.O.B.E.R. III-15] Eight-nil run

There are several things involving 8-nil that were salient for me today.  Both were clearly due to sports, and one was really exciting for me; the other tore me down the middle.

The one that was really exciting, yet I didn’t see or listen to any of the game in question.  Having lived in Lincoln for much of my formative years, there were no pro sports there, in preference to Huskers games.  Well, I guess there is the Lincoln Saltdogs (independent professional baseball team), and in Omaha, the Omaha Royals (now the Storm Chasers).

Well, the latter is the Triple-A affiliate of the baseball team that has won eight post-season games in a row during this year!  Yes indeed, the Kansas City Royals defeated Baltimore to move to 8-0 on the 2014 post-season, and is now in the seven-game World Series.  That eight-game winning streak to open the post-season is a Major League Baseball record.

Though I am not a die-hard Kansas City fan, I have followed them lightly ever since I went to their game against the Mariners on July 12, 2008 (hmm… maybe that will be a Throwback Thursday post once O.C.T.O.B.E.R. ends).  So, you might be able to call me a bandwagon fan, but I suppose that I am a mild fan of both Kansas City and the Chicago Cubs.  Two teams that have not done well in many of the previous years.

A little later tonight, I listened to the Nebraska-Northwestern volleyball match.  The Huskers had blown out the ‘Cats in the first set, but stole the second set that Northwestern played well.  Then, in the third set, between Huskers service aces, Northwestern attack errors, and powerful Nebraska attacks, the Huskers took an 8-0 lead.  In volleyball, it seems to be a real mark of power whenever a team scores five consecutive points, let alone eight.  The longest scoring run that I remember seeing in volleyball was a 10-0 run for the Huskers against UCLA in the Final Four of 2006.

The 8-0 run, of course, tore me down the middle, since I have strong loyalty to both Nebraska and Northwestern.  I always hope that those matches/games/competitions are very close, but this match was a blowout, definitely not helped by the fact that the ‘Cats had a 0.000 hitting percentage.  Why? In volleyball, hitting percentage is equal to (kills minus errors) divided by (total attacks).  There were 28 kills for Northwestern, and 28 attack errors.  That is a HUGE number for a three-set match.

Well, I better sign off–I have a lot of material that I have to prepare for the next two days of teaching!

====================================================

Today is the two-hundred and eighty-eighth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes forty-one weeks and one day.

Today is the ninety-third day of the Character Building Trial.  That makes thirteen weeks and two days.

Today is the fifteenth day of the third round of O.C.T.O.B.E.R.  That makes two weeks and one day.

Let's have a conversation!

