[M.M.X.I.V. 295 / O.C.T.O.B.E.R. III-22] Parimal (Viaje Tantrico)

I heard this song on WNUR a few months ago, and the varying musical qualities of it really drew me in… it seems to have influences from all across the world.  So, I might as well give a brief post about my preference to world music.

(However, I can’t find an online stream of it other than on Spotify.  Title: “Parimal (Viaje Tantrico).  Artist: Subhira.  Album: Transubhiriano.)

My musical tastes have been very diverse throughout my life.  When I was in elementary school, it was always about the pieces of “merit” that I learnt on the piano, or heard from pianos.  Also, the early-’90s “dance” music entered a special place in my head, since I associated it with the fun times of tumbling at Hollingsworth Studio.

As I moved from Fort Dodge to Lincoln, the popular music included songs like the Macarena, Mmm-bop, and the myriad of songs performed by boy bands.  I was not a big fan of these songs, although I occasionally will get some nostalgia and appreciation for them if I hear them nowadays… though some I still cannot stand.

I have always liked jazz music, and in general, music without words… or even words in another language!  Throughout middle school, most of my musical exposure was to songs from band class, particularly the marches and overtures of James Swearingen, Anne McGinty, John Edmondson, and others.

When I entered high school, and took a Spanish class, I realized that I enjoyed the loca music from Mexican influence.  The station 97.7, which used to be a Top 40 station, had shifted its format to Spanish-language.  (La Maquina Musica – Noventa Y Siete Punto Siete Efe Eme.)  The crazy Spanish songs were fun to listen to, even though they sang too quickly for me to understand.

Fast forward to Northwestern, and on WNUR, I listen to Continental Drift on occasion.  The international songs, regardless of language, tend to pique my interest, especially those that are heavily cultural or mixed-format.  The song that I mentioned at the top of the post surprises me, as the saxophones seem to be played in an Indian fashion, and I thought of India when I thought of the artist “Subhira” more so than a Spanish-speaking artist.

And how could I forget Hebrew music if I am mentioning world music?

You never know what you will take a liking to if you allow yourself to listen to a diverse set of songs.

============================================

Today is the two-hundred and ninety-fifth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes forty-two weeks and one day.

Today is the twenty-second day of the third round of O.C.T.O.B.E.R.  That makes three weeks and one day.

Let's have a conversation!

