[M.M.X.I.V. 301/O.C.T.O.B.E.R III-28] Version 8

As a corollary of yesterday’s post, I had mentioned that I was having computer trouble.  The good news: I had backup of my data.  The bad news: I hadn’t backed up data in a month.  The semi-good news: the research documents were backed up a week and a half ago.

I still hope to get the old computer working again, so that I have an extra computer if needed (and that way I can have one at home and one at the office!)  It may be a few days before I get the news from the repair people, but I am optimistic that any data on the old computer will be retrievable even if the computer is shot.

Because I need a computer for work, I got a new one today that has Windows 8.1 on it.  I spent the day setting it up for research: getting LyX and Mathematica installed, getting rid of bloatware, and transferring files from the backup drive.  I may have to take some time tomorrow recovering my progress on the writing, but at least I am certain what I am doing.  (In some sense, it is a good chance for me to double-check my work to ensure that I haven’t done something stupid.

Always find the good in the bad.

=======================================

Today is the three-hundred and first day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes forty-three weeks.

Today is the twenty-eighth day of the third round of O.C.T.O.B.E.R.  That makes four weeks.

2 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 301/O.C.T.O.B.E.R III-28] Version 8

  1. Sorry to hear about your computer problems, Noah – how frustrating and time-consuming. But I like your ‘always find the good in the bad’ thinking – very refreshing. Best of luck with the next stage of this one!

    Like

Let's have a conversation!

