[M.M.X.I.V. 311] Forbidden Actions

In three of my previous posts, all as journal-based posts, I have mentioned the Forbidden Actions.  These were Aventura, Should have posted this yesterday, and Acrostic posting.  Despite the “He-Who-Shall-Not-Be-Named” idea of this moniker, it is not as threatening or taboo as you might think…

The Forbidden Actions are the two following images, in this order:

Credit: Noah Weiss.

Image credit: Noah Weiss.

shower

Image credit: clipartbest.com

Today, I know that these are innocuous.  When I was a teenager, I had a particular unwillingness to shave and shower on a regular basis.  If this was the worst part of my teenage rebellion, I must have been doing well!

So, why did I call this combination the Forbidden Actions?  In some sense, this is based off a misuse of the word “forbidden” whereas two similar-sounding words would have been better: “forbidding” or “foreboding.”

When I was in high school, my technique for shaving was very poor, including quite a while when I was trying to use the razor “upside down.”  This resulted in A LOT of nicks and cuts.  Therefore, every time that I had to shave, I paired it with a shower immediately afterward in an attempt to wash off the likely blood that would develop on my face.

The reason I used the word “forbidden” instead of “foreboding” or “forbidding” was that during my junior and senior years of high school, one of my favorite video games was Final Fantasy Tactics Advance.  In each battle of that game, certain actions are Forbidden by the game’s Laws.  Therefore, the word “forbidden” became salient to me, and eclipsed the more-correct aforementioned words.  Furthermore, I expressly remember my complaints: “If I were a member of the royal family, I’d be DEAD by now!”  (I was thinking, clearly, of haemophilia)

However, in some sense Forbidden was still correct at one point.  When my family went to San Diego for a vacation in August of 2005, one of the mornings I woke up much earlier than everyone else (as usual!).  I tried to shave while everyone was still asleep, and when I shave, I tap my razor on the sink to clear out the hair.  That was noisy enough to raise the ire of everyone, particularly Dad.  So, maybe Forbidden actually still had its meaning in that sense!

I have mostly grown out of the apprehension toward shaving and showering.  I still refer to them as the Forbidden Actions, because everyone has to have some sort of creative name to keep things interesting!

The salience of the post: I took the Forbidden Actions this morning and thought it was a good prompt.  Thankfully, it did not jar my apartment-mate from sleep unnaturally!

=======================================================

Today is the three-hundred and eleventh day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes forty-four weeks and three days.

2 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 311] Forbidden Actions

Let's have a conversation!

