[M.M.X.I.V. 319] HEDY HEY HEDY HEY HEDY

decky decky decky decky decky decky decky decky decky

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Sed lacus ligula, volutpat quis risus non, porttitor faucibus mauris. Sed ut dapibus quam. In sed dignissim eros. Vivamus aliquam vel leo eget aliquam. Donec quis urna et sapien bibendum eleifend sit amet sit amet urna. Sed blandit, ex euismod vehicula pretium.

This post will take the guise of a freewrite, inspired by the idea of filler text.

Yesterday, the Chicago Sun-Times had several things go wrong.  I do not subscribe to that paper, but rather the Tribune.  The one that I thought was the funniest was a case of filler text making it through the copy-editing process.  It was an article about the Bears, and the headline is below:

decky

The silly thing about this is that with as bad as the Bears are playing right now, that sort of a title could actually fit how a post-game press conference might go.  When I was reading comments about it, several references to Cab Calloway came up, and indeed, I also thought of that, since I have the sports reference fresh in my mind.  Yes, Minnie The Moocher once appeared on HuskerVision at a football game (sorry, no video available)!

I have worked with filler text before, when I was on Yearbook in my senior year at Southeast (ten years ago–GEEZ!  So weird to think that my 10-year high school reunion is coming up this summer!)  When we started with templates for the yearbook pages, all of them had dummy text in every place that there was copy (words).  As copy editor, I got to check everyone’s work for spelling, grammar, and content.  (I was also sort of the teacher’s pet, as was usual in high school…)

Continuing with filler text, this is not the first time that I have seen it in a final publication.  At least a few times, it appeared in final editions of the Daily Nebraskan and Daily Northwestern, frequently in captions that must have eluded the copy editor.

Let me mention a few other things that the “decky” string reminds me of.

Last year (i.e. in 2013), during one of my several flights to Nebraska, I made the customary stop at Nuts on Clark.  One of the cash registers was out of order.  But it decided to be funny in letting us know that it was out of order, as shown in the picture below:

The register is spitting at me!

The register is spitting at me!

And how can I go with a post about repeated words without mentioning the popular Internet meme of 2003, particularly with Nebraska playing against Wisconsin today in football?

Before I end this, I have to bring up Masada again, and this time, write it out in addition to  presenting a link.

You never know: [Josephus] could be my great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great grandfather!

==========================================================

watermelon watermelon watermelon watermelon watermelon watermelon watermelon watermelon watermelon watermelon watermelon watermelon

Today is the three-hundred and nineteenth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes forty-five weeks and four days.

2 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 319] HEDY HEY HEDY HEY HEDY

Let's have a conversation!

