[M.M.X.I.V. 326] Fearless anniversary

I woke up to a cloudy day, where it was misty and perhaps light freezing rain was falling.  It was quite reminiscent of the weather on November 22, 2011.  And when I say that day, it brings back a significant event.

The significant event I put together as a Reconstructed Journal, and I’ll link to it as well.

Yes, indeed.  It was three years ago that I was hit by a car on my way to League, two days before Thanksgiving.  This time, Thanksgiving isn’t until the 27th, but it is still the principle of the matter.

Two years ago, Thanksgiving occurred on the 22nd of November, and I was in Milwaukee.  Needless to say, that was a very thankful day, AND I didn’t ride a bike that day.

Last year, my only bike riding was to and from the office.  Although I still count that as riding, it is not quite the same.  In some sense, however, it may be even MORE dangerous than the ride that I took to League three years ago.  I have a much worse track record around pedestrians than I do around vehicles!

Today, I was originally planning to ride my bike all the way to Wrigleyville to watch the Nebraska football game, and then return to Evanston for the men’s basketball game on bike.  Three factors have modified this plan:

1) The wind is strong from the south which would force a lot of extra effort on the outbound trip.

2) The freezing rain from last night may make treacherous roads en route (the game starts at 11:00).

3) There is still some amount of fear/gambler’s fallacy about this date being the anniversary of near-disaster.

However, I am not going to let fear control me.  By the end of the football game (probably about 14:30), the forecast calls for cloudy skies and a balmy seven/eight degrees, which should melt any of the residual ice.  (That temperature corresponds to about 45 Fahrenheit.)  Indeed, I won’t need as much insulation as I needed earlier in the week.

The adage “Fall seven times, stand up eight” definitely applies here.  If I did not ride my bike at all due to the date, that means that fear would have won this battle.  But, you must rise from your failures–many failures are simply a result of wrong-place-wrong-time!  If you are a safe driver/rider, remember that you cannot control others.

=======================================================

Today is the three-hundred and twenty-sixth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes forty-six weeks and four days.

3 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 326] Fearless anniversary

  1. Congratulations on being fearless. I enjoyed the moral of the story, not so much that you got hit by a car three years ago. Have fun.

    Like

Let's have a conversation!

