[M.M.X.I.V. 327] Shed some layers

This post is inspired by yesterday’s weather, and in some sense also by several posts that I have made in the past talking about temperature relativity.

Earlier this week, temperatures were significantly colder than the previous week.  The fall-like weather quickly degenerated into late-December-like readings–temperatures of the 50s and 60s (Fahrenheit) fell to freezing or below.

In particular, on Monday, there was snow, as well as wind chills which hit negative numbers on the Fahrenheit scale… in November!  The cold conditions continued throughout the middle of the week, before seemingly relenting for the weekend.

Indeed, though I wore my OmniHeat winter coat from Columbia yesterday when I went to Chicago to watch the Nebraska game, it may have been too much!  The temperature ended up in the mid-upper 40s, climbing into the 50s.

Even though that would be very unpleasant in September, now that it is November and I endured a brief cold streak, this change was VERY welcome.  In fact, maybe I should have shed the jacket and the non-yoga-yoga-pants (they’re 92% polyester and 8% spandex–I use them as cycling pants for colder weather if I’m not wearing my new ones) prior to leaving the bar!

Despite the temperature, riding a bike does generate internal heat, and it is easy to overheat if you are not careful.  I rolled up my sleeves, and avoided any melting.  I should also say that I avoided any crashes–this was NOT a repeat of 3 years ago, though there were two scary situations.

I have told this story before, but maybe not on the blog: when I used to live in Fort Dodge, Iowa, there were some horrible winters in terms of temperatures.  There were a few days when the temperature hit freezing that we were out in shorts and T-shirts, whereas at any other time of the year we would probably be bundled in winter gear.

Sometimes, I feel that peoples’ reactions to temperature is largely a situation of Mind Over Matter.  Other times, temperature can be mental in another way.  (Take a “frozen heart” for example.  Yes, I saw Frozen for the first time last night, after the NU volleyball match.  I liked it!  Disney movies are masterpieces in their appeal to all ages… it is fun to relive childhood and see new implications of the classics.  The innocence of a child: don’t let it go!)

=======================================================

Today is the three-hundred and twenty-seventh day of M.M.X.I.V.   That makes forty-six weeks and five days.

Let's have a conversation!

