[M.M.X.I.V. 341] Chicken or egg?

I will choose the chicken, but that is just because I have more of that in stock than I do eggs at the moment.  Ha!

However, what I am referring to need not deal with either of them.  What I want to reflect on: Grocery shopping!

Yesterday, I went to the Village Market Place to stock up on produce that should tide me over for the (then-12) days of my remaining time for the calendar year in Chicago.  If I don’t have to make another grocery trip before I leave, wonderful.  (If something that I can freeze or that is non-perishable goes on sale next week, however…)

I had no particular plans about what meals to make before I leave.  However, with broccoli, cucumbers, tomatoes, onions, and colored peppers, I will definitely make some stir-fry (as I did last night), at least once I will make shawarma-style chicken or schnitzel.  I also got potatoes, so mashed potatoes will be made.  I’ll also have burgers and fries or hot dogs and fries before I leave.

Oftentimes, I base my grocery purchases on what is on sale, and later make my meal plans from what I got.  This week, though I chose to wing it with my meal plans, I got the everyday low prices from VMP on the produce that I got.

As mentioned two paragraphs above, I then decided what my meal plan will be.

However, there are times where I plan my meals ahead of time and THEN go to the store in order to get appropriate ingredients if necessary.  This is a very rare occasion, and the most frequent reason that I do it is for my annual chili-making.  Even if it is something else that I would like to make (such as blueberry muffins), I will often wait for sales on blueberries.

Readers: do you plan your meals ahead of time and buy accordingly?  Or do you buy what is on sale and then plan your meals around that?  Or do something differently entirely?

======================================================

Today is the three-hundred and forty-first day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes forty-eight weeks and five days.

Today is the three-hundred and forty-third day of Mission 441.  Ninety-eight days remain.

4 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 341] Chicken or egg?

  1. I’m not much of a cook, but I don’t pay attention to sales either. I just usually go to the grocery store and rack up on whatever I see or whatever my son calls attention to. I don’t really care for grocery shopping, so I try to get in and out as quickly as possible.

    Like

Let's have a conversation!

