[M.M.X.I.V. 351] Trouble

On Monday, I wrote a blog post about Conservation of Difficulty.  It popped up in a different way today, and part of the story will also give a flashback to a much earlier time.

Rest assured, I am not in trouble, making trouble, or anything like that.

This morning, I chose to work on my research from home, because I was going to pick up my bike from the shop when it opened.  (On Monday, I had taken it in for an annual tune-up, and I got a call late yesterday to pick it up.)  The research went pretty well, but it was also annoying while working.  Not because of the research, but because of noise.

Noise?  Yes indeed.  My apartment building is under a project whereby the WiFi infrastructure will be improved.  This, however, necessitates drilling holes, futzing with cables, and requiring some people to vacate their apartments for part of a day.  Today, it involved noise, but vacating was not required on my floor.

At 11:00, I walked down nine flights of stairs to the lobby, and as I got close to the first floor, I heard a constant beeping noise.  In the lobby, it was coming from the fire panel.  Thankfully, there was no alarm going off, but the panel indicated one instance of “TROUBLE.”  Whatever that is supposed to mean…

This brings me to the flashback.  Each year, my family attended the Sesostris Shrine Circus in Lincoln, at the Pershing Center, in March.  A block away from Pershing, there was the Scottish Rite Temple.  One of the years (I think it was 2000 or 2001), my family attended a pre-circus lunch at the Temple.  As we entered, the security system beeped to indicate that the door was open.  But, after it closed, the monitor occasionally beeped with the display saying “TROUBLE.”  There was no danger in the building, but it was probably a malfunction somewhere in the fire alarm system.

Interestingly, the last major work that was done in my apartment building was on the fire alarm system, so there have been a lot of times the last two winters when I’ve had to deal with noise.

Well… once I rode to the office, further annoyance came.  On the front of Tech, there were, on hand-written sheets, the warning “FIRE ALARM TESTS IN L- AND M-WINGS TODAY.”

Ugh!  So, I had to avoid being startled by BLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP and then the fire-alarm lights flashing and the wooOOOP wooOOOP woooOOOOOP going off.  Well, the second of those was the hardest to avoid.  The beacon reflected off my computer screen!

I guess that both of those have been major distractions on the day.  It also doesn’t help that I feel I have moved to Vacation Mode after I finished meeting with my advisor.  This often happens the day before I leave for a vacation (even if it is only a weekend trip…)

==============================================

Today is the three-hundred and fifty-first day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes fifty weeks and one day.

Today is the three-hundred and fifty-third day of Mission 441.  Eighty-eight days remain.

One thought on “[M.M.X.I.V. 351] Trouble

Let's have a conversation!

