[M.M.X.I.V. 354] Good morning

Today’s post is somewhat of a Freewrite, but I am not using my “normal Freewrite rules.”   Instead, it is structured like the Rant game from Cram.  There are three key words that I must use.  But, there won’t be any buzzers for hesitations, off-topics, or “uh/ums.”

bookcase, something cracked, and a song you love.

The “Nobelium” sound effect resounds on my phone.  Under the heavy covers, the room is cold, and I don’t want to get up just yet.  The time is 07:00.  I look to my left from the bed.  It is still dark outside.  Yes, dawn has not yet cracked.

Returning to Lincoln, it is sometimes difficult for me in the mornings, because when I live in Chicago, it is usually already light (or at least dawny) at 07:00 when I would normally wake up.  But, Lincoln is further west in the Central time zone, which means later sunrises, but also later sunsets as compared to Chicago.

It also doesn’t help that Dad likes to keep the house’s thermostat no higher than 63 degrees Fahrenheit (17 degrees Celsius) during the winter.  When the room is relatively cool, it is harder to get out of bed, because being under the covers really is comfortable.

In my head, the sound coming from my phone was not Nobelium, but was rather the Radetzky March.  That sounds like a better wake-up song than a glorified phone ringtone, OR the dreaded BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP of an alarm clock.  I used to have that as my wake-up tone, between July 21, 2011 and late 2012.  (Why?  The phone that I used in Israel was a flip phone that had the Radetzky March as its default alarm tone.

So, wanting to maintain that part of my morning dance in Israel, I found that my phone allowed any song to be used as an alarm tone.  But then when it failed in late 2012 and I got a new phone, I found that there were only a limited number of built-in alarms, and no apparent capability to choose other alarm tones.

So, I got up, and prepared for the day by getting dressed, and reading over my short תורה reading.  (Yes, I realize that typing this right now in the morning is wrong, but as I have said many times before…)

As I typed, I looked to the left on my southwest wall.  The shelf/not-so-much-a-bookcase there used to be Super Dog City, my collection of stuffed animals and action figures.  Now, it contains a few certificates, including my diplomas from high school and undergraduate, a few trophies, some signed sports memorabilia, and a few other items.

wpid-wp-1419083780433.jpeg

How fitting that today’s Daily Prompt was basically a meta-prompt for me.  I was planning on writing about the time shift anyway at some point.  I’ve been quite psychic with some of the prompts recently!

============================================

Today is the three-hundred and fifty-fourth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes fifty weeks and four days.

Today is the three-hundred and fifty-sixth day of Mission 441.  Eighty-five days remain.

2 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 354] Good morning

  1. Love the associations in this, Noah – very vivid, at times amusing and interesting to read/think about. Great to see your shelves too – I am always very nosy about other people’s homes!

    Like

Let's have a conversation!

