[M.M.X.I.V. 358] Road signs

This post will act more as a photo-essay.  As long as I have known, road signs have amused me and been a part of things that I enjoy on my travels.  And sometimes, the color of the sign actually has significance!

 

I’ll show some signs, and then write comments afterwards.wpid-wp-1419359508558.jpegThis is the intersection of Union Hill Road and Azalea Place in Lincoln.  I think the word “Azalea” is such a fun word, and it has significance to me when thinking of Pokemon Gold and Silver: Union Cave led to Azalea Town, so that’s sort of a funny coincidence to me.

However, the thing to notice: the Union Hill Rd. sign is green, and the Azalea Place sign is blue.  There is actually a significant reasoning for this.  In Lincoln, streets that are through-streets or at least partially-through streets have green signs.  This obviously includes the major arterial streets, but also the signs for residential streets are green if they are not circles/cul-de-sacs/etc.  Azalea Place is not a circle, but a very short street with no outlet.

Let’s look at another set of signs that will resemble each other very much.

wpid-wp-1419359521668.jpeg

wpid-wp-1419359529399.jpeg

Both of these are at the corner of Broadway Avenue and Isabella Street.  But, there are frames on the signs in the bottom picture, but not on the top picture!  Both have the name of the street in a larger font than the suffix (Street or Avenue).  So, why are the signs different?  It’s because Isabella Avenue is the border between Evanston, Illinois and Wilmette, Illinois!  The upper picture is on the southeast corner of the intersection, in Evanston.  The lower picture is on the northwest corner of the intersection, in Wilmette!

But, speaking of Evanston, it’s funny to see road signs for names of streets of other municipalities, as seen below:

wpid-wp-1419359647798.jpegThe corner of Evanston Street and East Scranton Avenue.  Well, this is not in Evanston… it’s in Lake Forest, Illinois!  This picture is from when I was on the North Shore Century this year.

One thing that I like about road signs: all of the examples that I have given so far have been where the signs have all capital letters.  This was the usual case everywhere that I had been, until I saw Omaha, which has “proper” capitalization of its signs.  So does Whitefish Bay Wisconsin, as shown in the next picture:

wpid-wp-1419359546474.jpeg

For some reason, I really prefer signs that have proper capitalization, and I like when the prefix and suffix are de-emphasized as shown here.  The town logo to the left of the “N” also is great.  I’ve seen those also in Niles Illinois, in Valentine Nebraska, in downtown Chicago, and in Phoenix Arizona.  They give the place a little extra character!

And speaking of road signs, ever since I moved to Lincoln, I have liked “No Parking” signs for some reason.  The most salient one is the one that also included “No Stopping” near Humann Elementary School, and I am not really sure why.  But, since I like it, I have to provide a photo now!

wpid-wp-1419359499399.jpeg

And of course, with that, comes a similar No Parking sign (in Evanston) for which my expression completes the pun!

wpid-wp-1419359823817.jpegHope you enjoyed this brief tour of road signs that have been salient to me 🙂

=========================================

Today is the three-hundred and fifty-eighth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes fifty-one weeks and one day.

Today is the three-hundred and sixtieth day of Mission 441.  Eighty-one days remain.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 358] Road signs

  1. I love the old-fashioned looking signs, Noah – like something out of the Victorian age, and very evocative somehow. Great post! Seasonal happiness to you!

    Like

  2. You are both right that signs deserve more than a glance, particularly the vintage ones. At work in our local government, we concentrate on the names for new streets as well. We must often disapprove otherwise fun names, such as Warp Drive, Penny Lane, Lois Lane, Sesame Street and the like that are proposed by developers, because the Fire Department will think people calling from those locations are false alarms. Pity…

    Like

    • And of course, there are probably some street names that have become later examples of popular culture. There are probably some streets named “Baker” that police would not want to hear from.

      Or, in Atlantic City, what about the Monopoly property streets?

      Like

Let's have a conversation!

