[M.M.X.I.V. 359] TBT: Packages

Before the post begins, I must say Merry Christmas to everyone, whether you observe it or don’t (I am in the latter camp!)  Remember, there are times to use diplomacy in that sense.

Last week, I had mentioned that I would be writing a post about changing into bags. SO… here we go with that!

During my early-middle childhood (between the ages of 4 and 9), my family lived in Fort Dodge, a community of about 30,000 people in north-central Iowa.  People seemed to be connected very well, almost as if they were family.  The employees of the stores we got to know very well.

One example: at HyVee (the grocery store), we often connected with Carole, who ran one of the sample stands, and (I can’t remember his name now) was at the bakery to give us cookies.

Past the check-stands, there was a side exit for which a pick-up lane for groceries existed.  This was probably intended for older customers who would have difficulty getting all their groceries into their cars, or perhaps for families that had large shopping trips.

My family was definitely in the latter category: two young (under-40) parents and four children of age of single digits!   The most fun part of these large grocery trips was the end.  While Mom went to go get the car, the checker would take my siblings and me, with the grocery bags, through the side door and out to the front, as Mom pulled the car to the pickup lane.

Yep, all of us became packages and got packed into the car!  This was a fun thing, but of course I realize that it would NEVER fly with overprotective parents nowadays.  How much society does change in 20 years…

Another story: there was one time that Levi wandered off in the grocery store (he was 5 or younger at the time).  When Mom lost sight of him, the grocery store went on literal lockdown until he was found.  Would that still happen nowadays?

What sorts of experiences that you had as a child would never happen nowadays with your own children?

====================================================

Today is the three-hundred and fifty-ninth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes fifty-one weeks and two days.

Today is the three-hundred and sixty-first day of Mission 441.  Eighty days remain.

4 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 359] TBT: Packages

  1. Your second story still happens in some establishments. I’ve been in a grocery store when a child was lost before. I’m pretty sure it was in New Jersey. They locked it down.

    Like

  2. Excellent post, Noah. My experience that would never exist today was that I was allowed to wander all over town alone, as early as three years old. It was probably irresponsible of Mom even in the 1950s, but did not signal an emergency of any sort back then!

    Liked by 1 person

Let's have a conversation!

