[368/441] New Year’s – The Musical

I have become much more aware of music’s effect on my memories in recent years.  Ever since 2008, each New Year’s Day has brought something different for me, and therefore, I want to consider the past New Year’s Days, and give a salient song from each day–whether I heard it or it otherwise stuck.

In 2008, I was working at Runza on New Year’s Day, for some time-and-a-half.  I was to work pre-opening until 14:00.  As I drove along the newly-completed Yankee Hill Road toward the restaurant, I heard a song that I had never heard before: Sara by Starship.  It stuck in my head all day, and therefore became an anthem for New Year’s Day 2008.  (Quite ironically, it seems that I have met quite a few friends named Sara (or Sarah or other similar spellings) since then.

My activity on New Year’s Day 2009 was football, and gators came all over the place.  The Huskers defeated Clemson in the Gator Bowl, 26-21, and later we went to Buzzard Billy’s for dinner, where gator fingers were part of the appetizer.  Therefore, though I didn’t hear THIS song, all the gators makes me retro-spect Ventura Highway onto my memory of that day.

Next up is 2010.  The day again included football, with Northwestern taking on Auburn.  The ‘Cats lost, and we also went out for dinner at Lee’s.  However, the day was full of trepidation for me, as I would return to Chicago the next day, as well as have the fear of prelim exams hanging over my head.  Therefore, in retrospect, I have the scary “Zeal Palace” theme, with the high-timbre introduction giving the impending idea of doom.  It worked out okay in the end, but it was definitely a scary time for me.

How about 2011?  Once again, it involved Northwestern football falling in a bowl game, and Lee’s for dinner.  The other activities were a chick flick (Easy A), and bridge with Mom’s friends.  Since the movie was one of the more salient activities and had songs associated with it, I’ll go with the first song on its soundtrack… as “Change of Seasons” was really a mantra for 2011.  As I have mentioned before, 2011 was a huge year of social development for me.

2012 was a rough start to the year, as my Dad’s mother had died two days previously.  Therefore, we spent the day in Omaha with family, and attended her funeral then.  Although the song that I mention here I didn’t hear on the radio, since it is an adaptation of something said in the memorial services, I might as well add this song: “Turn Turn Turn.

The next year was 2013, and this time, Northwestern finally won a bowl game for the first time in 64 years.  I took a stuffed monkey to jump off my back after the ‘Cats prevailed over Mississippi State.  Later, we went to Omaha and had our annual Blue Sushi night.  It was “Everyone,” including the boy-/girlfriends of my siblings (I was the only one sans an extra side).  In honor of Levi, as well as the use of the word “sushi” in the song, I’ll go with One Week.

Last year, 2014, the Gator Bowl was again a Husker game, and we defeated Georgia!  The remainder of the day was pretty low-key.  Therefore, I’ll go with an obvious choice, given that “nothing really changed on New Year’s Day” of that year, or so it seemed.

Since I am writing this now and have not had much music experience on the day yet (other than recalling the previous years), I’ll leave a cliffhanger… and maybe ask it to my readers: What song is salient for New Year’s Day 2015 to you?

===========================================

Today is the three-hundred and sixty-eighth day of Mission 441.  Seventy-three days remain.

Let's have a conversation!

