[370/441] Half time

“And at the half, your score: Northwestern 30, Wisconsin 11.”

It could be that I was talking about the middle of a sporting event, where there may be entertainment on the field, or it may just be a chance for fans in the stands to stretch, use the restroom, get more concessions, or what not.  That would be the case given that I have used the name of the post as two words as in Association football (soccer).  However, I will instead consider something else.

When I was younger, I would often present my age during the first half of each calendar year as “n and a half years old.”  Because my birthday is July 3, this implies that January 3 (i.e. today) is my “half-birthday.”

I never had any sort of celebration for my half-birthday, other than just recognizing the date for what it was.  However, I heard of some kids at school getting small-scale “half-birthday” parties from their parents.

It brings up an interesting point–people tend to change the important milestones with which to quote someone’s age in everyday vernacular.  When a person is a baby, their age is often quoted as “newborn,” “n weeks”, or m months.”  It is probably like that until two or three years old, and then some people will say the age in years, but others will also include half-years, maybe until the age hits double-digit years.

I would definitely have said “I’m eight and a half years old” back in my childhood, but I would not say “I’m twenty-seven and a half years old” today.  Yet, if I were written up for something in the Guinness Book of World Records, the age is given in terms of years and days.  That does make sense, since a year is not sufficiently resolved for cases of record-young or record-old.

Are there any other anniversaries which people tend to celebrate on a semi-annual or even more frequent basis?

===================================================

Today is the three-hundred and seventieth day of Mission 441.  Seventy-one days remain.

Let's have a conversation!

