[386/441] Low Tech Part II

We live in a very modern world. I remember when I was in school, and learnt how to write in cursive, as the teachers set in me the expectation that I would only be writing in cursive from there on out.  As it turns out, I almost never wrote in cursive following sixth grade… and papers that I had to “write” for school ended up getting typed instead.

Indeed, we are in a culture where people do very little writing by hand, in favor of using the keyboard or the virtual keyboard.  (I am not a fan of the latter, as it is hard to use and the “fat finger syndrome” more easily kicks in.)  As I have mentioned many times before on my blog, there are many times where I prefer to be old-fashioned.  Let me give a few examples.

========================================================

As is well-known on this blog, I keep a journal daily (although I don’t always write physically in it each day, I write something with regards to each day).  Take a look at the header image of the blog–it is an example of my hand-writing in a journal!  I also later transcribe the journals to my computer through word-processing (or text-files, to be compiled into a PDF via the LaTeX language).  Now, there were a few examples of times where I had my journal entries ONLY on the computer, but these were few and far between:

Most of my correspondence is done by e-mail or electronic means.  But, when I write thank-you notes, I insist on writing them by hand and potentially delivering them in person.  This is somewhat based off my code of personalization, which I beat around the bush with in a previous post.

Writing hand-written letters is something that I rarely do, but I think it is the ultimate method of personalized communication.  Although I love chatting with people face-to-face, a person’s writing often resembles their speaking.  In that sense, reading a hand-written letter from someone can be the equivalent of listening to their voice, even if they are far away.

After having been moved so frequently by Sunny-Side Up With Kristin and Lindsay, a few weeks after the show had ended, I felt moved to write a personalized letter to both of them.  They were completely surprised and delighted by this.  A person’s hand-writing (whether in cursive or block letters!) is also an extension of their personality, and so having a sample of the person’s writing is almost as if they were there with you wherever the writing is!

I should really consider writing hand-written letters to others in a personal sense more frequently, as it really felt good to do it as mentioned in the previous paragraph. Although I do rely on the keyboard for a lot of purposes, and could not see society returning to a pre-keyboard era, there IS a lot of merit in writing by hand.

================================================

Today is the three-hundred and eighty-sixth day of Mission 441.  Fifty-five days remain.

(The Daily Prompt that inspired this post, even though it was from two days ago: “When was the last time you wrote something substantive — a letter, a story, a journal entry, etc. — by hand? Could you ever imagine returning to a pre-keyboard era?”)

How interesting that my Low Tech Part I post was also from a Daily Prompt.

4 thoughts on “[386/441] Low Tech Part II

  1. I totally agree with you regarding personal letters and handwriting, Noah: Beautiful way of putting it, too. I think many people have either lost this precious art or deem it an irrelevance – and I think we are the poorer for its gradual loss from our world. We DO give much of ourselves away via our writing – and I think that is part of the gift contained within a letter.

    Like

    • Thanks for the expansion, Ali! I think that writing can be seen as a more intellectual way of expression, and is more permanent than the spoken word. As I had mentioned, though, hand-writing has more significance to me than typed material. (Though I still transcribe written material that I have written to the computer…)

      Like

Let's have a conversation!

