I was the kind of kid who…

Thanks to Taylor Wolfe for this blog prompt! These “I was the kind of kid” lines are in no particular order.

The Daily Tay
I was the kind of kid who took everything literally, and believed every rumor from my friends at face value.
I was the kind of kid who would walk aimlessly-as-others-would-see-it around the playground “playing Interstate Highway” instead of using the equipment or playing sports at recess.
I was the kind of kid who would hum video game tunes, but then deny it when asked.  In fact, in my writing, I never mentioned anything about video games until high school when mentioning my activities. I took a letter from the Player’s Pulse section of Nintendo Power magazine quite literally about not mixing work and play in that way!
I was the kind of kid who would watch the same part of a movie fifteen times over (e.g. the squirrel scene in The Sword in the Stone, or Colors of the Wind from Pocahontas).
I was the kind of kid who would pick the pebbles out of his shoes by sliding a pencil through the crevices.
I was the kind of kid who was super-afraid of thunderstorms, even when inside. And I never baked or had Mom bake me a Thunder Cake.  (This one is salient for me right now because Chicago is under its first thunderstorm of the season right now.)
I was the kind of kid who would prefer game shows and The Weather Channel to cartoons on TV.
I was the kind of kid who more easily befriended adults than peers… and would not easily make friends on his own. (Let’s see how far we’ve come!)
I was the kind of kid who loved regular school, but despised Hebrew school, and tried to avoid Hebrew class (particularly the Judaica part) by hiding in a cabinet.
I was the kind of kid who loved to ride his bike around the neighborhood. (This has not changed, although there was a period during middle and high school when biking was not part of my regular routine…)
I was the kind of kid who didn’t care how others thought about my style… hence why I was unfazed by being The Kid With Popsicle Sticks For Glasses.
I was the kind of kid who was very particular about his food tastes. (I still am to some extent,  but have vastly improved my outlook.)
I was the kind of kid who used his Judaism to get out of singing winter tunes at elementary school choir concerts. (In retrospect, this was a really dumb objection, since even the songs that mentioned “Christmas” had no inherent religious meaning.)
I was the kind of kid who couldn’t play in his first band concert because of Fumbleitis and getting Karlized.
Readers who know me well from my childhood, feel free to add other things that I missed.  This is definitely not all-encompassing!
==================================================
היום חמישה ימים לעומר
blog signature
2 thoughts on “I was the kind of kid who…

  1. Yes! I would watch the same parts of movies over and over as well. And I hated thunderstorms (we’re in one now!) but I loved them if they happened while I was at school. I also hated tornados, they still scare me.

    Like

    • Thanks, Taylor! Indeed, I know about the thunderstorm–that’s how it became salient for my post.

      Tornadoes indeed scare me too, but I think that is more of a rational fear.

      Like

Let's have a conversation!

