Call the parents! (Freewrite)

This is a freeewrite based on a part of the B107.3 morning show tht I heard a few weeks ago.

While I was listening, an interesting survey from the March of Dimes came on. I was unable to find the actual survey, but essentially it asked people about their relationships with their parents, as well as communication thereof. One of the interesting things that it found was that the offspring are more likely to call their moms than their dads, and that the calls with the fathers tend to be much shorter.

I am definitely in that camp as well, as I usually call Mom for my “daily updates” and just to catch up with her. Most of my calls to Dad are for medical complaints or procedural questions, but not really much about chatting. I feel that I might be a different parent when I become one at some point (far?) down the road. … I might be a Dad who loves to talk in a Mom-style with his kids.  Time will tell!

Speaking of “Mom,” “Dad,” and phones, another thing that I have noticed about that, which is a little off-topic from the March of Dimes survey, interests me, follows. (Sorry about that horridly awkward sentence, but remember that I am just writing with essentially free association!) In my cell phone, all of my contacts are full name (i.e., first and last name). This includes Mom and Dad: their full names are the contact information rather than “Mom” and “Dad.” I wonder how many people register their parents’ names like this in their phone memory?

Well, I suppose that there can be reasons to use anything else. I don’t know, but then again, I suppose that when I had my first phone, I used the construct <NAME> cell instead of <FIRST> <LAST>. Of course, now that the phones can  register the type of number that is associated with the number itself, there’s no need to have “cell” appended. How many people acgtually have land lines anymore? My parents still have one at home, and their office obviously does too.

I also wonder: do Best Friends Forever or boyfriend/girlfriend duos register their other sides as something other than their first name and last name in the phone memory? That would be interesting. I have not used an “endearing name” to any of my friends, other than just their first names. I suppose that endearing names could come at a later time.

Wow, how close I still am to the original prompt, yet at the same time how far I have drifted.  The original prompt remains important to me, as I still want to keep in touch with Mom and Dad, to let them know how I am doing. I don’t mind them helicoptering in a small sense. This year, that has been especially true since I have needed support in trying to get myself started on the job search and the track to graduation. I have found that there are times in which I am not a self-starter, because finding the right questions to ask, or even mustering up the courage to ask, is not innate in my personality. I’m too passive!

Yet, at the same time, I can be aggressive once I either have a road map or when I am in Desperation Mode. But I really have to be in a pinch before I start becoming a self-starter most of the time. This is something that I need to figure out how to get around, because in the real world, I must make my own energy.

Shifting back to the orignal prompt, I’d like to discuss  phone calling in general. It’s funny how everyone seems to prefer text and Emoji conversations rather than talking on the phone or in person. I feel that is  quite sad and an indictment on modern culture. True human contact is more easily replicated with voice calls on the phone, but nothing can really replace face-to-face contact. But, when distance separates family members, the phone is the next best thing. As I have mentioned, I am very regular about calling Mom, and quasi-regular about calling Dad. But I am guilty: I rarely call my siblings, and really SHOULD call them more often. But it can be so hard to change a routine.  Yet, if I want to make it important, I will, and for that reason, I should try to  vow to call them more frequently.

We’ll see how well that goes, as the best-laid plans can often fall flat on their faces.

About a minute to go, and what else should I mention? Ah, yes. Calling the parents was salient to Mom today, as my grandfather celebrated his birthday today, with his favorite meal: mini-hamburgers at Mom and Dad’s house. I wish I ccould have been there, but being there on a weekday, when I live a megameter away, is not  exactly practicable. A phone call had to suffice, and …

TIME!

==================================================

היום חמישה ועשרים יום–שהם שלושה שבועות וארבעה ימים לעומר

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

