[M.A.P.L.E. IV-1] Mayday! Mayday! Mayday!

Welcome to the fourth year of M.A.P.L.E. (May Acquires Posts Logged Everyday)! In Year 3 of this challenge, each of my posts was based on a song that I had heard that day. The first two years had no particular theme, and I’d like to return to the No-Theme-M.A.P.L.E.

So, the first day of May is also called May Day, and that word as two words implies a celebration.  As one word, it’s a distress call, frequently in the air or at sea.  So, I’m going to start the fourth round of M.A.P.L.E. with songs of trouble at sea and celebration on the ground.

A few years ago, I heard a song that I had never heard before at an a-cappella concert of the NuTones (formerly Catatonics).  The song was “Barrett’s Privateers,” and the drinking-song tone to it made me enjoy it, as I love repetition.  Here’s one rendition of it:

During my sixth grade year, The Beach Boys appeared in my music class. Not the people themselves, but one of their songs. Interestingly, there was some feeling “broke-up” that I had from earlier in that year… sixth grade was tough for me in a few ways!

And speaking of these MAYDAY! MAYDAY! MAYDAY! situations, I’m guessing knowing that you’re in danger can produce an Anxiety’s Moment…

So, with that, let’s shift from danger to sweet surprise. Why that shift? In some locales, May Day has the tradition of May Baskets, which I did from my years in Fort Dodge and my first year in Lincoln. The idea is to leave baskets of candy and treats (or other goodies) on friends’ doorsteps. Ring the doorbell… and then RUN AWAY!! If you got caught, the recipient would give you a kiss!

So, here are a few songs with that in mind. The first one has the word “surprise” in it.  I wanted to try for a different artist, but obviously Chicago was on my mind:

Here’s one that I heard recently on Spotify radio, and even though the words are a little off-topic, the idea of getaway is still there. Dave Koz!

And even though summertime is still a ways away from us here in the Midwest, the idea of getting outside, spreading cheer with candy, is a precursor to the fun of what comes next: Summertime!

I will say that not every post in M.A.P.L.E. this year will be musically themed.

=================================================

Today is the first day of the fourth round of M.A.P.L.E.

היום שבעה ועשרים יום–שהם שלושה שבועות ושישה ימים לעומר

Let's have a conversation!

