[M.A.P.L.E. IV-4] Roger!

Evidently a few of my M.A.P.L.E. posts this year are based on military and radio terminology this month, as an e-mail that I sent earlier this morning contained the word “Roger.” After taking a look at Wikipedia, I found that I have been frequently misused the word… I suppose that is obvious given that I am not in radio transmission or the military!  Let me explain, and I hate to do this, but I’m going telegram style here!

Radio is full of code words STOP
Terms like “10-4,” “roger,” “affirmative,” or “do you copy?” are from this STOP

I always thought that “Roger!” meant “Affirmative” STOP
Turns out that is NOT the case STOP

“Roger” is used to mean “Received” STOP
“Affirmative” means “affirmative” or “yes” STOP

Will I get penalized for using these STOP
I am only a civilian STOP
I MISUSE these expressions all the time STOP
Like a mondegreen, but with possibility for a real problem STOP
Better return to thesis

OVER <click>

=======================================

Today is the fourth day of the fourth round of M.A.P.L.E.

היום שלושים יום–שהם ארבעה שבועות ושני ימים לעומר

2 thoughts on “[M.A.P.L.E. IV-4] Roger!

Let's have a conversation!

