[M.A.P.L.E. IV-6] It’s a hit!

There are two separate meanings for the title of this post. This post is intended as a quasi-Wordless-Wednesday post, but I’ve got a few reflections based on yesterday before I give my photo. So, let’s see what happens with this. It may be a letdown post after yesterday, but does that thought become a self-fulfilling prophecy?

During my nearly-four-year tenure in the blogosphere, many of my Big Hit posts have been related to Asperger’s syndrome. As an example, my reflection on a newspaper article from 2012 (precisely three years ago!) was my first Big Hit post. The year afterward, a letter for fundraising got a lot of traffic. Last year, nothing in May was particularly powerful on the stats, but later in the year, I got a lot of traffic on “An ironic prompt.

Yesterday’s post focused on the strong influence that my best teachers have had in my life, with the tools to overcome difficulties inherent in Asperger’s syndrome. Additionally, I felt in the right place in their classes.

With that quick reflection, I pull a pi (i.e. 180 degrees) and shift to a photo.

Mini-pancakes. They're a hit... a little bit too much!

Mini-pancakes. They’re a hit… a little bit too much!

Mini-pancakes have always been one of my favorite breakfast items… along with Mom’s Mickey waffles. Although I can certainly make pancakes in my apartment, (a) I am using a different recipe than what Mom uses for them, and (b) they wouldn’t be the same anyway!

What I always looked for in her mini-pancakes were the darkened edges but the lighter insides. This gave it a nice crispy taste to it, and I enjoy that texture. Mom and I started calling pancakes of this variety “hits.”

This morning, I made pancakes, but was multitasking and not carefully watching the pancakes. They didn’t burn to charcoal, but as seen in the photo, they became hits… and then some!

However, they tasted just fine, because they still had the crispy taste rather than just tasting burnt. I don’t mind slight burning of bread or flour-based items: burnt toast or bagels are fine with me!

As is often the case, I can find the silver lining in the clouds.

==========================================

Today is the sixth day of the fourth round of M.A.P.L.E.

היום שניים ושלושים יום–שהם ארבעה שבועות וארבעה ימים לעומר

blog signature

6 thoughts on “[M.A.P.L.E. IV-6] It’s a hit!

  1. I love pancakes! I like fixing mine with a pretty lattice across the whole pancake. It can have a tiny amount of crispiness on the edge. Serve ’em up with maple syrup and you have yourself a mighty fine breakfast. Now, I want pancakes! shake fist lol

    Like

Let's have a conversation!

