[M.A.P.L.E. IV-15] Unclear stream

Being the son of a doctor, some people might approach this topic with caution, thinking about a certain use of the word “stream” in medical jargon.  Don’t worry, I’m not going there, as I am not dehydrated anyway!  (I guess I just gave a hint.  OK, backing out now!)

Rather, I’m going on a topic that came up this morning. That would be radio streams.

Technology is incredible, being able to stream many radio stations and other music online, no matter the distance that you are from the source. It is quite different from even ten years ago, when the maximum distance was a 50-60 mile radius to hear a specific radio station. (Driving to and from Fort Dodge resulted in a few radio dead zones!)

And since 2011, after returning from Israel, I have used online radio streaming (both on the computer and on my phone) to get radio stations from Lincoln, Omaha, and Israel. They all come in equally clear when on my computer.

However, my phone has proved to be not quite as useful for radio streaming. A few things tend to happen:

  • TuneIn gives me the error message “There are no entries in this playlist” and nothing plays.
  • The song is frequently broken up by buffering. This happens much more frequently on the Israeli radio station, but that sounds pretty natural.
  • Weird sound-morphing happens. I have two examples of this, moving to a paragraph again.

When I used Pandora Radio on my phone, there were times when it would not play the songs at all, but there was another strange thing that happened. Sometimes, the song would slow down and turn into a robotic man’s voice. I can’t quite describe what this sounds like, but can give an approximation in the following Everything But The Girl song, with the boldfaced lyrics corresponding to the type of voice/sound that I heard… REGARDLESS OF THE SONG!  The voice happens at about 1:18 of the following recording (and several other times as well):

It’s packed at 2AM,

I’ve got no coat,

Are you on your own?

Go, go, go home…

I’m into you,

Go, go, go home…

That strange sound appeared at all times on the old Pandora app, so I stopped using it, even though that bug has probably been fixed.

Thith morning, I wath lithening to B One Oh Theven Point Three on my TuneIn app, and everything shounded odd… voishes were off, the shongs shounded different, and it must have been a bad shtream. It didn’t make the shtream completely unlithenable, but it wash pretty irkshome.

This sound impediment was not observed on the website’s  stream  on a computer, though.

(Send me a comment if you can’t read that paragraph, although the key thing: the bad stream made the timbre of the voices change, as well as essentially introduced a lisp into voices!)

Have you ever had difficulty with using music streaming on your phone?

================================================

Today is the fifteenth day of the fourth round of M.A.P.L.E. That makes two weeks and one day.

היום אחד וארבעים יום–שהם חמישה שבועות ושישה ימים לעומר

Countdown to “D-Day”: 17 days.

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

