[M.A.P.L.E. IV-16] Puppets, Miners, Argentum

These three things listed in my post title seem to have nothing to do with each other. But, I’ll put a few pictures of each of them, and then explain the story. Warning ahead of time: there are puns involved!

The first, third, and fourth images are taken from Wikipedia–the second one is obviously my own.

Finger puppets.JPG

“Finger puppets” by Schnäggli – Own work. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons.

Photo credit: Melissa Czyz (@sizzcouture on Instagram... though I am not part of Instagram! But if I did, I'd have a samurai!).

Photo credit: Melissa Czyz (@sizzcouture on Instagram… OK I’m not an Instagrammer! But if I did, I’d have a samurai!).

Silver crystal.jpg

“Silver crystal” by Alchemist-hp (talk) (www.pse-mendelejew.de) – Own work (additional processed by Waugsberg). Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons.

Amaryllis stamens aka.jpg

This image shows the stamens of a Hippeastrum flower. “Amaryllis stamens aka” by André Karwath aka Aka – Own work. Licensed under CC BY-SA 2.5 via Wikimedia Commons.

Some explaining will now occur. The first and last pictures are a pun on a tool that I used twice today… and had never used before.  Go figure!

That is, PUPPET STAYMAN. It is a convention in the game of bridge which is used to see if a notrump opener has either a four- or five-card major suit in their hand. It can be easy to forget, but there were two hands in today’s tournament in which my partner opened 2NT and I had a 4-card heart suit. Neither time did we end up in hearts–rather notrump each time.  But, I knew the responses: neither time did I get to use the “Smolen” technique.

And the word “miner” (with my hard hat and light) is a pun as well. I played at least two hands where I had a six-card minor suit (i.e., clubs or diamonds), headed by at least AKQ, and jumped to 3 on my second turn. Both times, we ended up playing in 3NT and making the contract.  Hands with long minors play much better in game in 3NT rather than 5 of a minor.

And argentum? Well, being that it was a Sectional tournament, the masterpoints that I earnt today (1.52 of them) were silver! (Ag = Argentum = Silver).

To add fun to the day, I had ridden my bike to and from the tournament, in great time.  However, the BUGS on the North Branch trail were downright annoying!

Oh, and on the last hand that we played, I got to respond to a reverse Bergen raise to get to 4S. We made 6, because our hands fit perfectly… though I don’t think it would have been easy to bid 6.

=================================================

Today is the sixteenth day of the fourth round of M.A.P.L.E. That makes two weeks and two days.

היום שנים וארבעים יום–שהם שישה שבועות לעומר

Countdown to “D-Day” is 16 days.

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

