[M.A.P.L.E. IV-18] One hit wonders

Tonight, I got to dress up in fancy clothing for the Formal Dance at Yad b’Yad. It’s a volunteering experience where I get to interact with young Jewish adults with various irregularities (i.e. disabilities). I have really enjoyed volunteering for this group, and the formal dance was a lot of fun.

The music was from all over, from the 60s all the way to today. The music was not quite as “heavy” as EDM (electronic dance music) or club remixes that might play today (though I wouldn’t know–I have never been to a dance club and am rarely in bars at night unless I’m there for a live concert!) What I noticed, however, was that there were quite a few one-hit wonders among these songs.

Among these songs, there were modern one-hit wonders like Party Rock Anthem and Gangnam Style, quasi-modern ones like Who Let The Dogs Out and a few older ones of which I have no idea if they are one-hit wonders.  As I heard them, in addition to dancing, I was chatting with other volunteers about which memories they brought up.  Not all the songs were particularly danceable in my opinion, but they were still fun.

I wonder (pun intended) why one-hit wonders tend to get a lot more attention, or why they tend to be salient to me.  It might be an interesting thing to search my music and find the songs which are one-hit wonders.  Or, even more, to search for the songs that are from one-hit wonder artists… but are NOT the most popular song!

For example, my canonical example: my favorite Chumbawamba song is not their smash hit Tubthumping, but rather another song, Amnesia, which got some airplay on KFRX in 1998.

Maybe it was a request, or maybe one-hit wonder songs generally tend to have higher energy and are more suitable for dance parties. Thoughts, anyone?

===================================================

Today is the eighteenth day of the fourth round of M.A.P.L.E. That makes two weeks and four days.

היום ארבעה וארבעים יום–שהם שישה שבועות ושני ימים לעומר

The countdown to “D-Day” is 14 days.

blog signature

2 thoughts on “[M.A.P.L.E. IV-18] One hit wonders

  1. Interesting point about the energy coming from one-hit wonders, Noah. I think you may have a point there – in the sense that fame can bring complacency in its wake, and that can lower the energy level to almost nothing. The same can be true of novels which form a series: The first one is often the best! x

    Like

    • What a novel point about novels (pun intended). If the first book is a hit, the author may have a hard time following up with the public and critics in future books.

      Like

Let's have a conversation!

