[M.A.P.L.E. IV-19] Dirty hands

No worries, this is a clean post (i.e. has no objectionable material, unless dirt and grime are objectionable to you.  But I don’t think that any of my readers are major clean freaks.

The idea for this blog post came from Sunday, and after this “Read more” tag (from the home page), I’ll give a picture of what sparked it.

DIRTY... DIRTY HAND!

DIRTY… DIRTY HAND!

The hand shown in this picture may not look particularly dirty, but it was much grimier than that a minute before I took the picture.  How did it get so messy?

In the background of the picture, you might be able to see my bike in its folded position. In order to get the bike to fold, I needed to lower the seat post.  But the quick release lever on the seat post was stuck, so after taking quite a bit of force to open it, I moved the seat post up and down, seeing all of the muck on it.

So, I had the (cough) great idea of running my hand up and down the post.  Only then did I realize, “I’m an idiot! I’ve got something in my backpack that can do this job.”  Carefully opening my backpack with my clean hand, I pulled out the classified ads of the Sunday paper.  Wiping off my hands with the newspaper, I then used another sheet to continue what my hands started. Additionally, I rolled it into the tube to try and break up some of the grease inside.

That technique was pretty effective, but of course there are more tidy ways to do this.

Throughout the last few years, I have realized how messy bike maintenance and use can be. I have ruined many pairs of pants by riding in the rain, and thus getting road grime and chain grease onto the bottoms of the pants. And of course, the longer pants have also been chewed up by approaching the crank shaft. Thankfully, my most recent pairs have been kept mostly intact.

How dirty does your method of transportation get you?

=================================================

Today is the nineteenth day of the fourth round of M.A.P.L.E. That makes two weeks and five days.

היום חמישה וארבעים יום–שהם שישה שבועות ושלושה ימים לעומר

Countdown to “D-Day:” 13 days.

2 thoughts on “[M.A.P.L.E. IV-19] Dirty hands

  1. Nice one, Noah! Any fiddling about in the bowels of my car’s engine inevitably has me begrimed within seconds! Checking the oil? Black from head to toe on emerging! Doing the tyre pressures at the local garage? Putting diesel in the tank? Slathered in grease and mysterious dark deposits and, in the latter case, smelling so strongly of fuel that it is as well I am no longer a smoker! x

    Like

    • Ah, yes. The distinctive smell of fuel permeates even if you don’t inadvertently spill it 🙂

      Thankfully, my Dad took care of my car maintenance when I was younger… and I haven’t used a car regularly for six years. (I still know how to drive in a pinch.)

      Liked by 1 person

Let's have a conversation!

