[M.A.P.L.E. IV-25] Unexpected response

My blog posts during this weekend have been quite short, including Saturday’s “Not up to snuff” post, where I threw together a post basically saying that it was Memorial Day weekend. The only reason that I made such a sad post was the fact that I didn’t want to “fail” my M.A.P.L.E. challenge.

However, when I checked my stats after my fake legalese post yesterday, I saw that I had 19 hits on Saturday, including 7 hits on the “poor post,” and even more surprisingly, it had 6 likes–two from bloggers that I consider as writers instead of bloggers and that are mutual follows (I’ll have something to say about this later in the week!), and four from blogs that appear to be legitimate, and somehow found my blog.

Was it the word “snuff,” knowing how that can be used in alternate ways? Was the brevity of the post something which can draw a different crowd?

In a sense, this observation of the likes and stats of my admittedly-low-quality post is one reason why I like making both short and long posts–different post lengths and styles will appeal to different types of readers (or just blog-surfers). What is dreck to the writer may be a treasure trove to some reader… and the reverse of this is certainly possible too.

However, I am more suspicious of likes and hits as “unengaged traffic.” For me, if I am engaged with a post, I will always leave a comment when commenting is open.  The Saturday post, despite 12 hits and 6 likes in the last 36 hours, has received no comments.

What are your thoughts about these stats and unexpected spikes in traffic to your blog?

=====================================================

Today is the twenty-fifth day of the fourth round of M.A.P.L.E. That makes three weeks and four days.

Countdown to “D-Day” is 7 days.  More specifically, at the point that I published this post, 163 hours and 33 minutes remain.

blog signature

3 thoughts on “[M.A.P.L.E. IV-25] Unexpected response

  1. I share your suspicion concerning sudden spikes, Noah – and have experienced a couple of days as a blogger in which non-human activity was clearly at the bottom of the stats. I think you may be right, actually: sometimes, we chose a word in our posts without necessarily thinking about its other, more sinister, meanings – and then find that we have drawn to us ‘people’ (aka trolls!) we would not wish to meet in real life! x

    Like

    • It makes me wonder how trolls and robots work in terms of seeking out words. I don’t understand what is in their minds, but I find it actually somewhat fascinating, even if it is annoying when you get trolled.

      Sometimes I toe the line with dangerous words (e.g. my XXX post last fall), even though my intent is not to bait trolls.

      Liked by 1 person

Let's have a conversation!

