[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. IV-1] Locked out!

Well, I sure ended September with a bang… the sound of an hour-plus blowing up in my face!

After I had finished teaching yesterday, I returned to my office. I did a few tasks with respect to grading, and then left my office to use the restroom.

Upon returning, the door was closed, because I didn’t put the stopper in the door.

I reached into my pocket and pulled out my plastic card-holder, which normally contains my Stout sports season ticket, a bus schedule, and my ID card which doubles as a key-card to my office.

Well, the ID card was not in the pocket! ARRRRGGGGH! I had left it on the desk and forgot to take it with me.

wpid-wp-1443672975450.jpg

Yep, this darned thing blew up all my plans. I was originally going to have dinner, finish up a little more work, go to the Stout soccer game, and then come home to do bookkeeping.

Good news: I was able to have dinner anyway while waiting for the campus security person to arrive, but I had no access to my cell phone, no access to my work items, and so I was twiddling my thumbs (figuratively) for about an hour.

I decided to sacrifice the soccer game, and instead prepare some online homework so that I can prepare the lectures for the next few days more easily.

Additionally, I’ll be trying to do a grant application to get reimbursements for the Joint Math Meetings…

These O.C.T.O.B.E.R. posts will attempt to be short, because if I want to post everyday, I have to bear in mind how busy my teaching schedule is!

======================================================

Today is the first day of the fourth round of O.C.T.O.B.E.R.

Memorial Stadium: 23 days.

Joint Mathematical Meetings: 97 days.

blog signature

2 thoughts on “[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. IV-1] Locked out!

Let's have a conversation!

