[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. IV-6] Case of the Mondays

It must be something about Mondays, at least this week and last week. I never seemed to have trouble with Mondays previously, but there’s the start of the work week which makes me realize as a professional how far behind I can feel on the first day of the work week.

Last Monday, I had finished teaching for the day at 17:30, but ended up staying in the office until 21:00. Why?

The students had submitted a homework assignment and although I knew all the answers, I wanted to publish an answer key for them to be able to consult.

This assignment had a lot of parts to it, and it was annoying to typeset them all. Still, I wanted them typeset so that they wouldn’t have to read my handwriting any more than they already do in class and on the comments!

I didn’t want to leave the office until I had finished that task, and was also discussing some difficult e-mails that I had received that day with a few professors. It was one of several things that made me feel out of control.

The perception of control vastly improved by the end of the week.

Well, today is another Monday. I stayed at the office late again, but this time finished the task I had appointed by 19:30.

Once again, it was a last-minute thing… the study guide for the students in my pre-calculus class.

Noticing how much students at the introductory levels clamor for study guides, I will be sure, come the next exams, to typeset them simultaneously with my lesson plans.

Additionally, answer keys will be typeset concurrently with the homework and exams, so that I don’t have a repeat of last Monday on some future Monday or other day of the week!

As I learn ways to become more efficient in getting prep and grading work done, I will find ways to free up my evenings or at least force myself to not work from home.

It’s a brave new world out here!

======================================================

Today is the sixth day of the fourth round of O.C.T.O.B.E.R.

Memorial Stadium: 18 days.

Thanksgiving Day: 51 days.

Joint Mathematics Meetings: 92 days.

blog signature

One thought on “[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. IV-6] Case of the Mondays

Let's have a conversation!

