[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. IV-10] Spoiled anyway

Last week, I posted a “Don’t spoil the game!” blog post, for the Nebraska/Illinois and Northwestern/Minnesota games.

At the Stout football game, however, the latter was spoiled, as the announcer called out WIAC updates, followed by Wisconsin’s loss and Northwestern’s shutout win.

I once again DVR’d both the Nebraska and Northwestern football games today, and thought of an idea to prevent spoilers, as shown below:

The Nebraska game was on ABC/ESPN, and the Northwestern game was on BTN. Both of these networks have a ticker at the bottom with scores from games around the conference and nation. They also occasionally cut in during breaks in the action with highlights from other games. I am able to avert my gaze and fast forward through these announcements, but I cannot easily avert my gaze from the ticker.

So, this picture did something for me:

wpid-wp-1444534126721.jpg

Yes, indeed. I taped a double-strip of paper on the bottom of the screen to block the tickers.

Furthermore, since the games were being played simultaneously and I was watching both on tape delay, I mitigated the effect of spoilers by watching one quarter of one game, pausing, shifting to the other game and watching one quarter, etc.

Today was a great day for volleyball, and a horrendous day for everything else. Although I “only” witnessed four events live or tape-delayed, I heard about three others. First, the heartbreakers and backbreakers:

  • FOOTBALL HEARTBREAK: UW-Stout lost at UW-LaCrosse to fall to 1-4 on the season. (Did not actually see the game, but heard about it)
  • FOOTBALL HEARTBREAK: Wisconsin pulled ahead with 4 seconds left to represent Nebraska’s fourth opponent to pull ahead at the 59:49 mark or later this season… which is also why the Huskers are 2-4.
  • FOOTBALL CURB-STOMP: After a 5-0 start, Northwestern was blanked at Michigan as it seemed over from the start–a kickoff return for a touchdown, NU three-and-out, and UM drive for another seven.
  • TENNIS CURB-STOMP: Every Blue Devil, except one, was swiftly wiped out by the opposition from UW-LaCrosse.

With all of that losing, at least my volleyball teams went a perfect 3-0 today!

  • Stout overcame a few defensive breakdown sequences and pulled out a win on Senior Day against UW-Plattesville, in five sets. It was my first win at a Stout event that I had to use my season pass to enter!
  • Nebraska knocked off Michigan in four sets. I only heard about this one.
  • The BIG stunner: Northwestern defeated #3 Penn State!!

Sports are a funny thing. And for my football teams, there is next week!

======================================================

Today is the tenth day of the fourth round of O.C.T.O.B.E.R. That makes one week and three days.

Memorial Stadium: 14 days.

Thanksgiving Day: 47 days.

Joint Mathematics Meetings: 88 days.

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

