[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. IV-13] Thrice in a lifetime (thus far)

There is water… AT THE BOTTOM OF THE OCEAN!

Oh, wait. That’s only once in a lifetime!

But thrice? Well, the third time is going to happen this Saturday. Let me explain!

The first two times that this post refers to are October 24, 1998 and October 13, 1997. The third time will be, as I just mentioned, October 17, 2015.

What happens on most Saturdays during the fall? College football! When I was at Nebraska and Northwestern, it was a “ritual” for me to go to the games, and almost always, it would be in shorts and a T-shirt, obviously with lots of red or purple, respectively. (And at the Nebraska/Northwestern games, the white half-and-half polo).

October 24, 1998: An early afternoon game pitted the Huskers against Missouri, one year after the Davison Miracle Catch. This was the second time that I had attended a Husker football game, and I went to the game, with Mom, directly from services.

Yes, because I had read from the תורה (Torah) for the reading of the story of Noah… and this was almost two years before I became a בר מצווה (bar mitzvah)! I don’t remember much about that day, but I do remember directly going to the game from services, and therefore being in my Saturday best. I also misremembered the final score: it was 20-13, rather than the 13-9 that I thought I had remembered.

October 24, 2007: It was a long day of services, and I had read from the תורה, once again, from the story of Noah. I also led a good portion of services and gave the sermon, which was very similar to one that I posted on my blog a few years ago. I rode my bike from services (yes–in my Saturday best!) knowing that I was late, but didn’t miss much… only the beginning of the Huskers getting manhandled by Oklahoma State, 14-45 in a game that wasn’t even that close.

October 17, 2015: I’ll be going to Mendota Heights for services, where I will read Genesis 7:1-16, and after services, I will be going to TCF Bank Stadium for the Gophers/Huskers game! I’ll be in my Saturday best again, but that will be a suit with a red shirt, rather than a white shirt. (That is what I wore in 2007, but it will be a different suit since that one has since bitten the dust.)

So, although what I have in this picture is NOT what I will be wearing, the picture describes the occasion very well. No worries–my hard hat will be ON MY HEAD at the game (but not in the synagogue)!

wpid-wp-1444791399212.jpg

Oh, and another thing: it is the third Huskers football road game that I have attended. Each of the first two times was in Evanston. Let’s hope that I can go 3-0 as a Husker road warrior!

======================================================

Today is the thirteenth day of the fourth round of O.C.T.O.B.E.R. That makes one week and six days.

Memorial Stadium: 11 days.

Thanksgiving Day: 44 days.

Joint Mathematics Meetings: 85 days.

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

