[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. IV-18] False start

I was about to make my O.C.T.O.B.E.R. post for Saturday, but realized that I had already called my O.C.T.O.B.E.R. IV-17 post what I had posted on Friday night, evidently forgetting about my post on feedback! Ha!

Even so, since the “17” post was intended to be posted today if I had recalled that I had already posted on the 16th, I will not count this as a failure of the challenge.

It’s definitely a false start, though! At least I am not getting disqualified for it like in swimming or track–just a five yard penalty.

Although speaking of penalties, the Huskers played a very clean game yesterday in Minnesota, pulling out a win, 48-25, over the Golden Gophers.

Still, the game started with a couple of “false starts.” The Huskers could not get the defense off the field on third down during Minnesota’s first drive and were fairly quickly down 7-0.

There was a part of the ribbon board that was updating scores from around the nation, and I also overheard someone say, “Iowa 40, Northwestern 10.” Double UGH–both that the ‘Cats lost and that the DVR’ing was spoiled.

I may have to find a way to simply accept that if someone spoils the result at an event that I attend, that it will free up some time for me to do other things that evening. No sense watching a spoiled game, particularly when it is a big “L.”

Unlike the last time I wore the suit to the Nebraska game, the Huskers won. But the homecoming team lost badly–the Northwestern game aforementioned.

I might as well post a photo of said outfit in the stands…

wpid-wp-1445139848449.jpg

Conservation of excitement, I suppose. The Stout football team also won, so at least I didn’t have another losing record on Saturday for football.

======================================================

Today is the eighteenth day of the fourth round of O.C.T.O.B.E.R. That makes two weeks and four days.

Memorial Stadium: 6 days.

Thanksgiving Day: 39 days.

Joint Mathematics Meetings: 80 days.

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

