[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. IV-21] Eighty-five I was minus-two

Two consecutive posts that I saw on my Facebook feed inspired today’s post.

Today is October 21, 2015, which is “Back To The Future Day!” In the second part of the trilogy, the time travel went to October 21, 2015, and several outlets have covered this.

[youtube=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fF2jpIhxQmQ]

Then, the next post was about from one of my friends the Cubs running out of gas in being down 0-3 in the NLCS against New York.  Combining 1985 and out of gas, I got the title which is a take off “Sixty-nine, I was twenty-one.”

Let me talk about my reflection on Back to the Future with two brief anecdotes.

DESTINATION TIME JAN 28 2011 20:00

PRESENT TIME OCT 26 2015 19:28

LAST TIME DEPARTED OCT 26 2015 07:45

I had just finished with dinner and services at Hillel, and headed over to the (then-new) Graduate Student Commons in Seabury. They had a free movie with popcorn and snacks, and it was Back to the Future. I can’t believe that was my first time seeing the movie, given that I loved 80’s music so much during my teenage years! Still, I was never much of a movie watcher. I had seen The Royal Tenenbaums with GSA in the previous year, and although it was good, one of the scenes gave me a vagal reaction.

I really enjoyed the premise of Back to the Future, and it is amazing how well they realize the mantra “You can’t change the past without changing the future.” And, I found a lot of interesting references and quotes, including the “ROADS? Where we’re going, we don’t need… roads” that I had heard on clips from the Ultimate 80’s Request Party.

Unbeknownst to me, the movie would become salient about four weeks later…

DESTINATION TIME FEB 26 2011 20:30

PRESENT TIME OCT 26 2015 19:28

LAST TIME DEPARTED OCT 26 2015 08:00

The KOACH Kallah Shabbaton experience had finished, as we had sang Havdalah and walked back to the Best Western University Plaza hotel. There was a little bit of time for schmoozing and snacking before we took a bus to the iO theatre in Wrigleyville. It was a fun ride, as a culminating activity to perhaps one of my real impetuses to get more involved with the Jewish community.

The show included “Whirled News Tonight,” where real news stories were taken as suggestions for improvised scenes. There were several interesting ones, but I don’t remember most of them.

For the second part of the show, there was a long-form scene, and one of the suggestions taken was, “What is the future of Conservative Judaism?” So, the scene ended up being a “Back To The Future” type scene, complete with Hanukkah songs and lots of Jewish stereotypes. I was very impressed and amused by the scene, and thought it was a great way to end the weekend.

Of course, now I’m travelling back in time to bring these memories!

Might as well do one more thing of time travel…

DESTINATION TIME ??? ## -12000 ??:??

PRESENT TIME OCT 26 2015 19:27

LAST TIME DEPARTED ??? ## 1995 ??:??

I’ll go to the lead-up to the first Apocalypse as given in the video game Chrono Trigger. Better not talk about the apocalypse in 1999…

======================================================

Today is the twenty-first day of the fourth round of O.C.T.O.B.E.R. That makes three weeks.

Memorial Stadium: 3 days.

Thanksgiving Day: 36 days.

Joint Mathematics Meetings: 77 days.

blog signature

One thought on “[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. IV-21] Eighty-five I was minus-two

Let's have a conversation!

