[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. IV-31] O.Z.Y.

I am not intending to end the post with M.A.N.D.I.A.S., although that would be funny.

Instead, it’s about my day earlier today. I went to services as I often do on Saturdays, by getting up early in the morning and driving into Mendota Heights. It was an enjoyable service, but there was nothing too special that happened.

However, it was quite rainy on the way in. That didn’t dissuade or cause difficulty for me.

After services and the קידוש (Kiddush) luncheon, the after-services activity was O.Z.Y. (Ozi v’Zimrat Yah), which translates “The ETERNAL is my strength and my song.” Those words are sung every morning in Jewish services with the Song at the Sea.

During O.Z.Y., we sat in two concentric circles, and just sang a few songs, including ניגונים (wordless melodies), two- and three-part rounds, and one longer non-round selection from the liturgy. It was a little different from what I expected (I was expecting more of a זמירות jam session), but the opportunity to sing in a small community was something that I still got.

Part of the joy of Shabbat and holidays is the joyous singing, and the presence of others. It is something that I wish I had more of during my youth, but each time that I get to do something like O.Z.Y., the fact that I do not do it every week makes it special and “renews” my joy to participate.

Next time it comes around, I will volunteer one of the songs from the bentscher and lead it. I had the ניגון to כי אשמרה שבת (Ki Eshmera Shabbat) stuck in my head last night.

One great thing about Judaism is the fact that no matter where you are, the culture and religion connects us all.

======================================================

Today is the thirty-first (and final) day of the fourth round of O.C.T.O.B.E.R. That makes four weeks and three days.

Thanksgiving Day: 26 days.

Joint Mathematics Meetings: 67 days.

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

