Sidle

Sidle… it’s such a funny word. What does it mean? According to Merriam-Webster:

Moving with one side foremost, especially in a furtive advance.

The first time I saw that word was in the sense of crabs “sidling” along the beach.

But, I’ve got several of my own ideas for the word.

The problem: I don’t move furtively at all! Though I’m not always loud with my steps, I have a problem with being discreet, even if my steps are discrete (ha). They’re sometimes not–I am a foot-shuffler, big time!

But, it’s that time of year when there are final exams. Therefore, it reminds me of when I was at Northwestern as a TA, in Lecture Room 5, Lecture Room 4, or Lecture Room 2 of Tech. While walking around, I would not-so-furtively sidle along the walls watching people’s thoughts and writing, while also checking for suspicious behavior.

So, whenever I proctor exams, I think about sidling around, even if I am not furtive at all. The furtiveness will come with more practice, just like how everything else in teaching will come with practice.

Although my favorite type of sidling was the “Terry Oke” back-and-forth movement of legs during flag football practice. I preferred “running sideways” to running back and forth. But the topic of running–that’s for another day!

As if my words haven’t already sidled all over the page. I wanted to make this a short post, as I have to make some problems appear on review packets for my students. See you soon!

===============================================

Finals Week: 5 days.

Lincoln: 12 days.

Joint Mathematics Meetings: 25 days.

blog signature

2 thoughts on “Sidle

  1. Most interesting, Noah – and has made me think of ‘sidle’ in a whole new way! I loved your ‘discreet’ and ‘discrete’ bit – very clever and witty! x

    Liked by 1 person

Let's have a conversation!

