TF

Last week, I was thinking about a “TF” that I had written as a thing of shorthand in my planner. And it got me thinking about a few different ways that I have seen “TF” used… all in different contexts. I might as well start with the context that inspired this post.

(And also, the last one may partially explain my lack of posts last week.)

To Follow. In my planner, I had written, on two lines: “Bank 13:30 or later / Rent Check TF.” The “TF” meant “To Follow,” i.e., immediately following the previous event.

The first time that I saw that was in high school, when the softball schedules had times that had a “/TF” (ex. “4/TF”). That meant, “4pm and to follow” when referring to a schedule for a doubleheader, which was very common in high school softball.

Although I’ve rarely seen it in other contexts, I still use it in other contexts, as seen from my planner.

True/False. This may be the most common assumption of what TF stands for. Whether it be on an exam, a shorthand for a question that ends, “True or false?” or anything else along those lines, I often abbreviate a True/False question as [TF.]

Although, on my assignments, it’s never pure True/False, but rather “If true, explain why; if false, explain why or give a counterexample.”

Tuition/Fees. Whenever I paid my rent for Engelhart at Northwestern, I would take a check to the bursar’s office. Every time that I went to the window, the cashier would carefully inspect my check, before scribbling the letters “TF” on it, and on the invoice, taking a red stamp that said “POSTED” and slapping it on.

It took me a few times, before I realized, “TF stands for Tuition and Fees.”

Yet, at NU, the Fees were about 1/30 of what I paid, and the other 29/30 was my Engelhart room without board. Go figure!

Tuesday Friday (or Thursday Friday). Probably the second-most common way that you might see TF. Yet, because of the confusion, there are two different ways to indicate this: either ThF/TuF, or perhaps using RF for ThuRsday/Friday.

When I abbreviate the days, I use “R” for Thursday, rather than “Th” or “T.” (Of course, I would just have to use ה if I were in Israel.

Too Frantic. Not a common usage, but in some sense is how I felt today after being at the office for almost 13 hours. Four hours of teaching, two hours of office hours, a non-restful lunch break, and frantic prep work and e-mail answering in the remaining five hours at the office.

But as for the last one, I know that I often get frantic and frazzled around the time of exams, with preparing review material. Yes, it may kill me, but I’m willing to occasionally burn myself at the stake for the sake of my students!

============================================

“Engage!”: 5 days.

NU at Madison: 19 days.

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

