Train tracks

When I think of train tracks, I think of several things other than thoroughfares for long cargo-or-passenger-holding vehicles. There are at least two other things which come to mind, itemized here and then explained:

  • Caesura.
  • Watch and chair marks.

The first term, caesura, may not be familiar to everyone. It is a term in music, which is associated with the entire song stopping. This is the same idea as a Grand Pause.

A possible musical notation for a caesura is two slanted, parallel lines. Therefore, they are colloquially called “railroad tracks,” particularly since it’s an instruction that all musicians stop playing at that point. A couple of songs that I played in middle school had real caesurae in the score, but none that we actually performed.

However, one of them, Aventura, had a “false” caesura. The pause was a whole rest for all parts in the middle of the song. The audience thought we were finished when we reached this point, but without missing a beat, Mr. Schulz continued conducting and we managed to avoid too much distraction from the applause (which naturally subsided quickly).

(I’ve included a more professional recording of said song below–the pause is at about 2:17).

The “railroad tracks” that I want to talk about, however, somewhat relate to eighth grade as well, though it was more readily inspired by something this morning.

I seem to like wearing my watch pretty tightly. Additionally, I often sit on my leg (causing it to fall asleep easily). Both of these sometimes cause odd textures to develop on my body. These textures also used to appear when I took a nap on certain couches, and so Mom and Dad nicknamed those patterns railroad tracks or spiderwebs.

Sometimes, you get other fun patterns, like the “waffle” circles on some chairs, or perhaps the roller coaster route after unwrapping tefillin (phylacteries). And in general, any thing that is put on a person’s body can temporarily leave tracks (i.e. imprint) if left long enough and/or tightly enough.

For some reason, I am quite amused by these sorts of sensations and textures that temporarily appear on my body. Is it an odd method of stimming? Who knows?

I know I’ve liked these kinds of body textures for a long time–hence why I have worn my watches fairly tightly.

Here’s a picture of my watch-induced railroad tracks. Don’t worry, I didn’t cut off my circulation!

wp-1458149887576.jpg

===========================================

Coon Rapids: 10 days.

Rochester: 17 days.

פסח: מ”ג ימים (Passover: 43 days).

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

