Musical Memories Shuffle XX

Wow, I’ve reached the 20th episode! It’s interesting in that this sequence has gotten more and more spaced out. Well, the format will be the same, and this time, it’s a Spotify shuffle. Here we go! When possible, I will include links to YouTube videos or sound clips from elsewhere.

  1. שירת הסטיקר (The Sticker Song) by הדג נחש (Hadag Nahash). When I was back in Lincoln for winter break in 2011, an obvious (check out other blog posts referring to 2011!) topic of discussion, especially at the synagogue, was my Birthright Israel trip. At our Erev Christmas party, one of the invitees showed me this song, and how all of the lyrics come from bumper stickers in Israel. And I like the song anyway now (not like I disliked it in the first place…)
  2. Frankenstein by Edgar Winter Group. This was part of the Northwestern pep and marching bands’ repertoire, and I really enjoyed their rendition of it, including “walking like the monster” based on their choreography… and  making up my own, of course! I had heard the song a few times on the radio prior to going to Northwestern, but the next time I heard it on the radio was not until winter break in 2014! I knew it sounded familiar, but it took me a few bars to realize, “Wow!”
  3. Walk the Walk by Rick Braun. This smooth-jazz song was something that I heard originally on Pandora. There’s no specific memory associated with it, other than I like the saxophone combined with the tinging instruments (can’t tell which instruments they are, however…)
  4. Call on Me (Radio Edit) by Eric Prydz. I found it weird that they made a strange remix of part of Steve Winwood’s Valerie. I heard the song during warmups of my very first Northwestern event–the field hockey match against LSJU (i.e. Leland Stanford Junior University). That, along with other dance mixes, seemed to really creep into my musical preferences during my first year of graduate school… as well as some other additions to my social life, like a taste of the bar life…
  5. Twilight Zone/Twilight Tone by The Manhattan Transfer. During some evenings from 2011-2013, I went to the Joe (from NUJOT) pad, together with friends Mickey (Birthright) and a rotating cast of fourth people. Joe had an impressive collection of vinyls, and this song was on one of them. I’m not sure what it is about the song which enraptured me, but maybe it, plus the good times of Joe’s crazy sacrifices over my 3NT bids.
  6. Hush by Deep Purple. Yet another song that is part of the Northwestern band’s routine. Strangely enough, I have not heard it on the radio since I left Lincoln, but then again, my conventional radio consumption greatly decreased after I got to Evanston, since (a) only WNUR came in clearly in my apartment, and (b) I used quite a bit of Pandora and/or last.fm before I learned about online streaming of conventional radio stations.
  7. Getaway by Dave Koz. Shortly after I went to the Summer Horns concert on July 4, 2014, I realized how special jazz is in my set of musical preferences. Part of this hearkens to the fact that I had so much fun with Sunny-Side-Up shows and building a friendship there. This is my favorite song from his “Hello Tomorrow” album, and I think the message is really powerful. We all need to take a little time to get away!
  8. Kashmir by Led Zeppelin. Strangely enough, the reason I added this song to Spotify was because it was prompted by an ad that sometimes pops up after songs. In retrospect, I’m not sure why I added it, as it’s not my favorite song. Maybe it will grow on me since I added it… I do like the instrumentals and the “foreboding” tone that I sense from it.
  9. The Border by America. I heard the song several times on WLS-FM when I started listening to their online stream, and the song just stuck for me. It’s a nice message too, and as I think I’ve mentioned before, I always like tunes which include repetitive syllables in place of words (do-do-do-do… here).
  10. Boom Boom Boom by Outhere Brothers. Let’s hearken back to #4 on this list. However, let’s replace Northwestern with Nebraska, replace field hockey with women’s soccer, replace 2009 with (I forgot the exact year… sorry :p), and replace Stanford with (whoops!) The “Boom-boom-boom” layered on top of the “I Like To Move It” intrigued me… as well as the “Heey-yo!” I think the thing was probably edited to just give the chorus on repeat, because the lyrics involving “booty” would probably be a little risque for a sporting event.
  11. Valerie by Steve Winwood. Wow, did I call this one? See #4. The big memory of this song was in May or June 2005. Just before or just after I had graduated from Southeast, I requested this song on the Ultimate 80s Request Party. My comment for the reason of the request was, “Because I still am the same boy I used to be!” Sometimes, the lyrics DO mean something to me!
  12. Make A Wish by Secret Garden. After finding a few other Secret Garden songs that I wanted to hear, I decided to download the whole Winter Poem album to Spotify. This song has a wonderful, magical feel to it, and makes me think of carefree times as a child. Or, being lost in a dream world. What does this song make you think of? Hopefully something peaceful… or emotional!
  13. Viv by Joel Styzens. This is part of his “Relax Your Ears” CD, of which I have heard on WNUR during automated play. The simple melody is relaxing to my ears, although there are a few other songs on it which I prefer a little more.
  14. The Zodiac by Down To The Bone. This song, I guess I could say, was my gateway song into the genre of acid jazz. It’s really groovy, and made a great addition to my “Weather Channel” Pandora station–I thumbs-upped this song the first time I heard it. It also created another Sunny-Side Up dance party when I requested it after visiting the studio!
  15. Life by Haddaway. This song is the red-headed stepchild of “What Is Love.”  Indeed, I heard it on my “90’s Pulse” Pandora station, and thought that it was a nice song that I had never heard on the radio. I like this song as well–it has a similar background tune. (There must be something about me liking non-one-hit-wonder songs of one-hit-wonder artists–see also Vengaboys, Chumbawamba, or Trio.) The message “Life will never be the same–life is changing!” hits me as very true, especially when I heard this song after graduating from UNL. And the following lyric: “Everybody needs somebody to love, to love…” has a lot of interesting implications.

===========================================

Rochester Sectional: 5 days.

פסח: כ”ה ימים (Passover: 25 days).

Big Proctor Set: 36 days.

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

