25:30

25:30. Sounds like it could be a lot of different things. One thing that I will jokingly refer to is a scoreline, like Northwestern vs. Central Michigan football from a few years ago.

Or, it could denote a chapter and verse in Scripture. Yes, and in some sense that has an indirect link to what I am talking about.

Actually, both the theme of football and religion can enter this post!

What I’m actually referring to, here, is the intentional failure to use modular arithmetic!

The “25:30” refers to the time 1:30 A.M. Why? It’s a double-point.

As I mentioned in previous posts, I have been using 24-hour time in my writing and on my watch for a long time. I even cite the 24-hour time before quickly translating for my friends who don’t want to do the modular arithmetic.

When it comes to days extending past midnight, however, my journal seemed to have two different philosophies. On some days, like New Year’s Eve into New Year’s Day, it makes sense to make the journal entry switch to a new day at midnight.

On other days, even those that include late-night parties or other late-night events (coughgradingcough), I have inconsistently labelled the end of the day in my journal as either midnight or bedtime.

On the night of the #PleaseResetTheGameClockToYourButt game (Nebraska football at Fresno State in 2014), my last journal entry from the day says, “The effective time of 26:00 means SLEEP!” So I didn’t branch-cut it at midnight. Strangely, I had enough energy to stay up that day, despite not taking a power nap.

Yet, another late night that I had from a late-night bar night (2009) DID have its journal entry cut out at midnight. The last line from before midnight said, “Danced to the Thriller and a few other songs that I found danceable”, and the line corresponding to just after midnight read, “Also talked to some random people that Susan and Sammy were chatting with”.

And before you go, “HUH? Why is he bringing his journal to a bar?” I wasn’t. I wrote this entry the next day, and made the “logical” cutoff in my entry of midnight.

Well, last weekend, my journals show a few nights where I was up well past midnight, for the Seders. In both of these cases, my journal continues from after midnight until I went to sleep… at “25:00” and “25:30” both nights. They were worth it–thought-provoking discussions, tasty food, and great friends in Sarah and Tamar and their parents. The only deficiency: no matzo ball soup (not a big deal, but certainly contrary to my schema of a Passover seder :))

Come to think of it, last year, I cited “25:00” from my return from Rabbi Kensky’s seder. Even the Hillel seder ran late, and I was back at Engelhart after midnight… after performing my chivalrous offer to walk with a few friends back to their dorms. Gotta be a good friend, even if I am tired!

It does bring up an interesting philosophical point: even if the calendar date shifts while you’re still awake, do you call it a new day before you go to sleep? Why or why not?

===========================================

M.A.P.L.E.: 3 days.

Big Proctor Set: 5 days.

Rochester: 34 days.

היום חמישה ימים לעומר

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

