[M.A.P.L.E. V-1] Whom You Are With

On the first day of the fifth month, Noah shall once again begin a post-a-day blogging challenge. It is REALLY hard to believe that this marks the fifth year of M.A.P.L.E., and also that the fifth anniversary of this blog is coming up at the end of September!

For today’s post, I was looking at the Facebook-generated memories from May 1, and one of my posts stuck out to me today based on recent weekends.

MAY 1, 2011: I posted, “Whom you are with. It’s more important than where you are.”

Perhaps a little context is important with this quote.

This was a weekend that Mom and Dad had visited me in Chicago, during my second year of grad school. They had gotten in the previous day, and we didn’t do very much that day, due to my mind attacking my system for whatever reason. Nevertheless, being with Mom and Dad made it all worthwhile.

The next morning, I posted this on Facebook, to mean the following:

Even if you’re in the most exciting place in the world, it is more important to have great family and friends around. And on the contrary, even if you are in the most boring place in the world, having family and friends nearby will help.

In some sense, I feel that is why these last few Sundays have been difficult for me. Although I have not found much excitement within Menomonie, I’ve been working hard enough to be able to get through any sort of boredom or loneliness, possibly excluding the weekends.

This may include some trepidation about the summer that I spend, but I figure that there are a lot of things that I can do to keep myself occupied, including but not limited to:

  • Bike rides around the region, with or without accompaniment.
  • Day/part-day trips to the Twin Cities and/or Eau Claire for bridge, Jewish life, and on-the-whim activity.
  • Catch up on journal transcription.
  • Work on professional development/research.
  • Maybe even a long-weekend trip to Chicago or Lincoln!

I’ve realized, during my time in Menomonie, that the friendships that I developed in Chicagoland were some of the strongest bonds that I have created… perhaps as a result of it being my first place of making a name for myself! And also, that I am quite extroverted in many cases. I’m glad that I have the phone numbers of some of my good Chicago friends, as it helps bridge the distance better than a sequence of text-based messages.

But, regardless of where I’ll be in the fall, or in the future, I will definitely find ways to connect to people, maintain, and build friendships. I should, now that I am nearly finished with the school year, try to do both personal and professional development during the summer. The future’s open wide!

===========================================

Today is the first day of the fifth round of M.A.P.L.E.

היום שמונה ימים-שהם שבוע אחד ויום אחד לעומר

Big Proctor Set: 2 days.

Parkside On The Phone: 4 days.

Rochester: 26 days.

 

Let's have a conversation!

