[M.A.P.L.E. V-6] No Comment

This post, in some sense, is metacognitive. Yet, it’s also ironic, as it’s a comment about the phrase “no comment.”

When you read about “alleged” criminal acts, or other controversial or disturbing news, the media often reports, “So-and-so refused comment,” “So-and-so did not respond to a request for comment,” etc. It is sort of weird… almost as if giving comment is admitting guilt. (Granted, I saw the comment-being-a-self-incrimination happen on an exam that I graded, where a student flouted the rules of no graphing calculators.)

However, that mention of an exam and comments segues nicely into the reason for today’s post. On Wednesday, Thursday, and today, I took 42 rounds to grade a bunch of final exams for my classes. (42 rounds consisted of one round per page per version of the exams, and then two rounds for adding and recording). Because the students will not see the exams, it is useless to put any comments on them.

As much as I wanted to, I know that the goal here is Fast-And-Free-Finish. Thus, the only “comments” that I wrote on these exams were my scores for each problem. I didn’t even put check or “x” marks this time!

But, at the same time, let me swing back to the phrase “no comment.” That is true irony, because saying “no comment” is a comment in itself. That’s something which has often grated at me.

Also, despite the name of the post, the comments section will be open!

===========================================

Today is the sixth day of the fifth round of M.A.P.L.E.

היום שלושה ועשר יום-שהם שבוע אחד ושישה ימים לעומר

Tourney Times: 15 days.

Rochester: 22 days.

Twenty-Nine: 58 days.

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

