[M.A.P.L.E. V-13] Manifold

“Manifold” is a math term, but don’t worry, there’s no explicit math in the post. Unless you consider basic numbers, like ONE, TWO, and THREE. Don’t worry: I’m only going to listicle them, in a brief article. (And there will be a few pictures!)

ONE: The number of attempts that I needed to find a parking spot for my car yesterday, at the final destination of the day in the Twin Cities. (I was going to a play at a community center at 19:30, but intentionally arrived in town 150 minutes early.)

TWO: The number of vehicles I actually had with me. My “Handy 167*” and my Blue Steed. The Blue Steed was inside Handy 167 in order to accomplish the upcoming Three.

IMG_20150820_081350012

Handy-167… back when it was completely new in August 2015 (the In-Transit sticker was still in the window!)

wp-1463146860010.jpg

The Blue Steed, who said, “Manifold!”, comfortably in the trunk of Handy 167 (taken yesterday)

THREE: The number of miles, separating the parking lot and a coffee shop where I met with a friend, that I got to enjoy the hills and wind with my Blue Steed.

This was super-enjoyable! There’s a reason why I got a folding bike in my senior year (and got a new one in 2013): the sheer convenience of folding it into a car or a train is amazing, as it allows me to park somewhere away from parking troubles, and then ride my bike to the downtown or other limited-parking venues. From here on out, my bike should always be in the car trunk when I use the car, since the weather will soon cause my Steed to whinny, “TAKE ME OUT! I WANT TO BE RIDDEN!”

If I ever go to a concert or sporting event in a city, I’d much rather bike it! The day that they start charging parking for bikes is the day that the world ends. (OK, I know that’s a little bit of a hyperbole, but still…)

Oh, and speaking of city, here’s a fourth number for you (OH NOES!)

FOUR: The number of days that I’m (initially) planning on working each week this summer. I want to reserve one weekday a week (maybe a different day each week) for adventuring, whether that be meeting friends in the Twin Cities or a mutual rendezvous spot, adventuring the roads in Dunn County or other counties in Wisconsin, going to a bridge tournament, or various other activities.

(*) “YAD” is the transliteration of the Hebrew word יד, which means hand.

===========================================

Today is the thirteenth day of the fifth round of M.A.P.L.E. That makes one week and six days.

היום עשרים יום-שהם שני שבועות שישה ימים לעומר

Tourney Times: 8 days.

Rochester: 14 days.

Kenosha: 19 days.

Twenty-Nine: 51 days.

blog signature

2 thoughts on “[M.A.P.L.E. V-13] Manifold

Let's have a conversation!

