[M.A.P.L.E. V-17] Can’t Find The Open Door

I was listening to the radio this morning as I always do, and a newer song that I have heard often in the mornings came on the radio. I like the sound of the song, but as usual, I don’t really pay attention to the lyrics. However, I didn’t know the name of the song, but once I found the name of said song (thanks Shazam), I realized that I completely misconstrued the lyrics in the refrain.

What I thought it was:

Let’s lose our minds and go crazy-crazy,

Ai-yi-yi-yi, I keep on hoping,

but can’t find the open door!

The way that I misheard these lyrics would make the song an anthem for me if it were new at this point last year! I was applying for jobs for this year and beyond. I had my head stuck in the sand for a long time, and didn’t start applying until February 2015, which of course meant that almost all of the deadlines for tenure-track positions had passed, and many of the job descriptions said, “PhD preferred, but ABD or Masters degrees will be considered.”

Right after I defended my thesis, however, I got two interviews–one which I took essentially as a practice interview (the job was a part-time adjunct position), and the second was at Stout, and as they say, the rest is history once I got the good news from Stout.

But in the meantime, I was really nervous about my prospects, and so my MISHEARD lyrics, “Keep on hoping, but can’t find the open door” was salient indeed at that point.

Well, now it looks like I’ve found the open door, as I have campus interviews in the next two weeks (and one day)!

wp-1463491278316.jpg

The open door is just used as a visual effect.

And now, the real lyrics of this portion of the radio edit (the original version replaces the first “crazy” with a “Purple Card”):

Let’s lose our minds and go crazy-crazy,

Ah-ya-ya-ya-ya, I keep on hoping

we’ll eat cake by the ocean (huh)!

Um… not exactly the same. But once I Shazammed the song, I realized that the song’s name almost immediately warned me that I was way wrong.

In addition, the “overtones” of this song, even the radio-edit version, don’t seem appropriate for family-friendly radio. I think that a lot of pop songs nowadays have these problems…

===========================================

Today is the seventeenth day of the fifth round of M.A.P.L.E. That makes two weeks and three days.

היום ארבעה ועשרים יום-שהם שלושה שבועות ושלושה ימים לעומר

Tournament Metropolis: Next 4 interchanges.

Madison: 3 days.

Rochester: 10 days.

Twenty-Nine: 47 days.

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

