[M.A.P.L.E. V-20] Logger’s OOPS!

My original plan yesterday was to put my bike in the car and go to St. Paul in order to bike parks and around the Mississippi River with a friend. Regrettably, she was under the weather, despite the weather being pretty-much impeccable that day. (Of course, I know what the idiom actually means :p)

Well, yesterday was too nice of a day to be cooped up in my office or apartment all day. I admit that I wasted the day by aimlessly surfing the Web in the morning, but I tend to do that if my original plan gets dashed for whatever reason. That’s something I’ve got to get better with, but I feel like my motivation for research is usually lower during the summer.

But anyway, I chose to take a “Weiss Vacation” and do one of the recommended trails from a Dunn County trails map. I chose the Loggers Loop, which is below:

loggers_loop

Loggers Loop

It’s a loop, so it can technically begin anywhere. The official markings begin at the Junction/Stokke Trail, go through Menomonie on a very familiar trail route, before taking Cedar Falls Road to … Cedar Falls, an unincorporated community just to the east of the Red Cedar River. The route then circles in a clockwise direction around Tainter Lake, before going through the industrial complexes in northeast Menomonie, passes an elementary and middle school, and climbs a nasty hill.

It then continues through south Menomonie, not far from my apartment! It leads to Irvington, another unincorporated community, and travels a rustic road with rolling hills back to the starting point.

I really enjoyed the ride, but twice was mislead by missing signs. Throughout the route, there are small “Loggers Loop” signs which should be followed. Well, at Cedar Falls just east of the river, there was supposed to be a sign that pointed along the lake. I missed said sign, unless it wasn’t there, so I ended up continuing on BB and getting to B, which is a high-speed-limit road. No crashes or incidents, thankfully!

Then, on Stokke Parkway, another nonexistent sign led me astray, but only a couple of blocks. That’s okay, since it extended a 22-mile route to a quarter-century. And more biking is never a bad thing!

Indeed, here was my route, including the errors:

loggers_oops

Logger’s OOPS! Focus on the differences in the northeast corner (north is up). 

Actually, I can make a math joke about this. Sometimes, you run into logarithmic equations with extraneous solutions. I guess that my missed turns became extraneous solutions, because I didn’t check them! 🙂

===========================================

Today is the twentieth day of the fifth round of M.A.P.L.E. That makes two weeks and six days.

היום שבעה ועשרים יום-שהם שלושה שבועות ושישה ימים לעומר

Kenosha East: 3 days.

Rochester: 7 days.

Kenosha West: 12 days.

Twenty-Nine: 44 days.

Let's have a conversation!

